In His Eyes by Stephenia H. McGee

Today, we welcome author Stephenia H. McGee. Her latest book, In His Eyes, is a Civil War romance with dynamic, realistic characters and colorful descriptions.

Hello, Stephenia! Tell us a little about yourself and your background.

Stephenia: I graduated from Mississippi State University with a degree in Animal and Dairy Sciences, but I soon learned that my heart stirred with the power of the story. I took classes and learned the craft, and now have six books currently in print. In addition to writing and running my publishing company, I chase around two active little boys, am a wife to an amazing husband, and teach a fiction class to high school students.

What genre are your books? What draws you to this genre?

Stephenia: I write Christian historical fiction. I love history, and I like the idea of experiencing a different time and place through the pages of a book. I also enjoy the research. I have found a lot of interesting things while researching for a story.

Do you work to an outline or prefer to see where an idea takes you?

Stephenia: Both…sort of. I start with a basic outline of where my major plot needs to go, and then I plan out the first 1/3 of the book. After that, the story takes over as the characters develop and assert themselves. At that point I see where I am in relation to the major plot and I map out the next 1/3 of the book. The characters take me on a journey again and I stop with the final 1/3 to go, where I plan how to wrap everything up. I have tried doing a full outline at the beginning, but have found I end up straying too far from it. It works better for me to do it in sections.

What is the hardest thing about writing?

Stephenia: Finding the time and quiet can sometimes be challenging with a busy family and all the aspects of running my company. I have to be disciplined to protect my writing time, otherwise it gets lost under all of my obligations. Since I started working in the writing industry full time about 18 months ago, I have had to make sure that I still remember that just because my office is in my house I still have to treat writing like part of my job…because it is.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Stephenia: In five years I hope to have continued to grow in the industry while writing the books that God places on my heart. I hope to grow stronger in my faith and I hope that in five years I am still writing stories. By that time, I should have 15 book published. Whew!

Thanks for stopping by!

Stephenia has graciously offered to give away an eBook copy of In His Eyes to one person who leaves a comment. It could be you!


In His Eyes: A Civil War Romance

Her heart sought shelter. Her soul found home.

Ella Whitaker rescues a newborn from the dying arms of a woman of ill repute and at long last she has someone to love. In need of a wet nurse, she arrives at Belmont Plantation just as Federal soldiers demand to speak to the owner. Thinking quickly, Ella masquerades as a Yankee officer’s widow in order to have a roof over her head and a home for the child.

Major Westley Remington has dedicated his life to serving his country. The Civil War has divided his family, torn his thoughts of glory, and left him with a wound that may never heal. Westley returns home on medical furlough to settle his father’s estate at Belmont Plantation, only to find his home is being run by a fiery and independent woman—one many believe to be his wife. Now he is faced with a conflict he’s never been trained to fight, and one she has yet to conquer.


Winner of the 2012 RONE Best Inspirational Book of the year (2012) and author of six Historical novels, Stephenia H. McGee has a fascination with hoop skirts and ball gowns, Greek revival homes and horse-drawn carriages, quirky Southern sayings, and home-grown recipes.

She currently lives in Mississippi with her husband and two boys, (accompanied by their two spoiled dogs and mischievous cat) where she writes stories of faith, redemption, and stories steeped in the South.

Visit her website at www.StepheniaMcGee.com and be sure to sign up for the newsletter to get sneak peeks, behind the scenes fun, the occasional recipe, and special offers.

FaceBook: Stephenia H. McGee, Christian Fiction Author

Twitter: @StepheniaHMcGee

Pinterest: Stephenia H. McGee