A Second Chance by Alexis A. Goring

alexis-a-goringToday we welcome my author friend, Alexis A. Goring, to discuss her latest release, A Second Chance.

Hi, Alexis! Tell us a little about yourself and your background.

Alexis: I love to write! Since age 9, I knew that I wanted to be a writer. God allowed me to follow my dreams…And a degree in Print Journalism and an MFA in Creative Writing later, my dreams are becoming a beautiful reality!

I’m passionate about photography, good food, music and movies. I love shopping at my favorite malls and spending time with family and friends.

My favorite colors are purple and black. I love to wear those two colors together. Close seconds are deep shades of blue and pink.

What genre are your books? What draws you to this genre?

Alexis: My books are Inspirational Romance/Contemporary Romance for the CBA market. My love for clean love stories and Hallmark Channel movies drew me to write this genre. I love a good romantic comedy and I adore a story where true love wins!

Do you work to an outline or prefer to see where an idea takes you?

Alexis: I prefer to see where an idea takes me. I’ve tried writing outlines before writing the story and it made it tough for me to write the story because it felt like all of the fun of it was gone. However, I do determine the emotional, physical, and spiritual GMC (goal/motivation/conflict) for each of my main characters before writing the story. My book editor Liz Tolsma advised me to do so and provided coaching as how to do that and it’s helped me to get a better handle on my characters. Thanks to this newly acquired skill, I am able to write stories that are solid.

What is the hardest thing about writing?

 Alexis: Re-writing when you already thought that your story was perfect. But a good editor knows best! So I take my editor’s advice and when I’m done, I see that my editor was right. I went through this process with my latest release, A Second Chance. It was re-written at least twice and adjusted several times before publication.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Alexis: Hopefully, in five years I will be an award-winning, well-paid writer with more published books and screenplays that are made into movies on the Hallmark Channel and the big screen! Maybe happily married too and experiencing my own happily ever after, the real-life version!

Thanks for dropping by, Alexis! And here’s where you can purchase Alexis’s latest book 🙂

Purchase link for A Second Chance 

Amazon.com – http://amzn.to/2kAP4HX


A Second Chance
book-coverNewly single food critic and newspaper reporter Traci Hightower is done with dating. After the man of her dreams left her at the altar on their wedding day and ran off with the woman she thought was her best friend, Traci resolves to focus on work and resigns herself to being a bachelorette for life. 

Marc Roberts is a political reporter who is known as Mr. Nice Guy, the one who always finishes last. However, Marc’s compassion and kindness are of invaluable help to his newly widowed sister Gina Braxton who is trying to raise her two kids in the wake of her firefighter husband’s death.
Traci and Marc may be the perfect match, but they don’t know it yet. With God’s guidance and the help of Gina’s matchmaking skills honed by her career as a bestselling romance novelist, there is hope for a happily ever after for these two broken hearts.

alexis-a-goringAlexis A. Goring is a passionate writer with a degree in Print Journalism and an MFA in Creative Writing. She loves the art of storytelling and hopes that her stories will connect readers with the enduring, forever love of Jesus Christ.

Connect with Alexis at FacebookTwitterWebsite, PinterestGoodreads, and the “God is Love” blog.

Purchase links for Hope in My Heart: A Collection of Heartwarming Stories (book):

Amazon.com – http://amzn.to/2kygelo

Barnes and Noble – http://bit.ly/1Tm5T4P

Christianbook.com – http://bit.ly/2luh9RM

Save

Leave a Reply

