3 Questions Wednesday with Jacqueline Gillam Fairchild

photo0057fourbysixAuthor Jacqueline Gillam Fairchild has a special occupation as the owner of Her Majesty’s English Tea Room and the British shoppe Fairchild’s. Imagine serving a proper English tea every day.  I’m ready to go. But first, let’s find out a little more about Jacqueline…

First Question:

What inspires you?

Jacqueline: I am inspired by everyone I meet and their stories. We all have stories, if we take the time to listen. They don’t have to be gigantic or earth shaking, they simply are each and every one of ours.  And as I hear them, I am inspired. I have a strong faith that people just need a friend.  I like to listen and then help people find that gem inside them they always knew was there.

Maybe that is why I started writing:

I think women crave a prettier, kinder, independent world.  Through my restaurant, my shoppe and my stories I show women how this can be achieved.  How they can find that gem inside themselves and develop it into their dream career or hobby.

I inspire and encourage women to leave the rat race before they are forced out, and to become self-starters in all the ‘dream’ categories from running a bed and breakfast, tea room, bridal business, photographer, pastry chef, interior designer and floral designer, to name a few.

My stories include the beginning and end—the very young and the very old and the ties we make with them in the middle.  And perhaps a bit of whimsical magic, because, after all there is that magic inside of us that sometimes we just miss. I think of myself as Hallmark meets Disney.

It’s wonderful that you have so many ways to inspire people. 🙂

You’re a new addition to the crayon box. What color would you be and why?

Jacqueline: I love color. I guess I can say I would want the entire box of crayons. Each color brings out a feeling or mood for me and I feel sometimes people unknowingly limit themselves. The colors of nature are my favorite because they simply are there, waiting for us.

Interesting answer. Last question:

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Jacqueline: As a child I wanted happy endings.  I felt by owning my own business (Her Majesty’s English Tea Room and my British shoppe Fairchild’s) I could bring beautiful things, and quiet moments of tea time to so many people while my creative side had endless outlets. I have always written, and always knew that I would take my businesses to the next level with my novels. I love people from the quiet small moments to the momentous ones and feel my stories capture them.

teatime

Jacqueline, we’re so glad you joined us today! 

Jennifer: Thank you for taking the time to visit with me. I think your blog reaches people you will never meet, but will change just a little bit.

More about Jacqueline: Follow my daily blog of one happy thought jgfairchild.wix.com. My facebook pages are always fun: Her Majesty’s English Tea Room and Jacqueline Gillam Fairchild. My Pinterest boards are a variety of all the things I love: Her Majesty’s English Tea Room at Fairchild’s.

This is Lucy my therapy dog. Therapy in that she simply loves me and is there for me, regardless of my day. I always have dogs and cats in my stories. They are the furry people  I think we all need.

img_3836

Tea time–that quiet time that restores us. Aren’t there just 20 minutes in the day, just for you?

Would you enjoy receiving  a hard copy of Jacqueline’s novel Estate of Mind or a gift certificate to tea at Her Majesty’s in Dunlap, Illinois? If so, please leave a comment below and you’ll be in the drawing to win…


Estate of Mind 

estate-of-mindWelcome to Estate of Mind. A beautiful bed and breakfast in an old apple orchard in the middle of the middle of nowhere. Ever wonder what restoring an old mansion and turning it into a bed and breakfast would be like? Miranda simply had to move her aging father from the city to a country retirement center and get her two small children out of inner city schools. This meant sacrificing her own career.

How hard could it be to find a new career in the country? Or a place to live? Harder than she ever imagined!

As the housekeeper at a derelict mansion, Miranda begins cleaning out decades of trash while vowing that when the absentee owner returns, she will give him a piece of her mind for living like such a slob. After endless scrubbing, painting, polishing, and restoring, the old house is magnificent. To Miranda’s delight, the attic holds a treasure trove of old furniture just waiting to be brought back to life. Encouraged by her friends, Miranda turns the gorgeous estate into a bed and breakfast. But what happens when the absentee owner finally comes home, only to be checked in by Miranda’s seven-year-old son?

2 thoughts on “3 Questions Wednesday with Jacqueline Gillam Fairchild

Leave a Reply

