Imagine the Possibilities

By Betty Boyd

happy-new-year-1912680__480

Over the years, I’ve listed various resolutions I would commit to throughout the year. I was determined, no matter what, to do every single one. This is a hard concept to overcome. Yes, I said to myself, defeat is not an option.  I have come to find that I have been wrong to try to do an expansive list of resolutions.

By trying to do every single resolution, I ultimately set myself up for failure. Going forward, I’m going to follow a different path. I am picking a word and a biblical verse I can use as a prayer. Using both will help me to focus in the direction God wants me to go.

My word for this year is Flourish. The Merriam Dictionary defines flourish to grow luxuriantly: thrive. I want to do more than just list a goal; I want to live the life God has planned for me. My mission is to really listen to God rather than go through the motions of goals.

Yes, I know I’ll more than likely not do it all right. However, I will get back up and keep on going. Failure is my learning tool and will help me to grow into a better person.

My biblical verse is:  “Do everything without grumbling or questioning, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine like lights in the world, as you hold on to the word of life”. Philippians 2:14-16.

My goal is to really try the best I can to follow God’s plan. This will help me to flourish and be a light to all.

Happy New Year!

So, what resolutions do you want to achieve?  Imagine the possibilities…

One thought on “Imagine the Possibilities

Leave a Reply

