3 Questions Wednesday with Gail Johnson

gail-johnson-head-shot-9Today’s guest is my friend and our newest Crew Member, Gail Johnson.

Hi, Gail! So glad you dropped by. First question:

What books have fortified you as a writer? How?

Gail: I would have to list the Bible as the first one. I know it sounds a little cliché. But in those seasons when I feel like giving up, I always happen upon a scripture that encourages me to forge ahead.

In the fictional department, Francine River’s Redeeming Love and Jill Austen’s, Master Potter, were life-changing stories about God’s unconditional love for two women, Angel and Forsaken. Those characters will forever live in the corridors of my mind. Both tales prompted a seven-year journey that led to the writing of my current WIP as I learned how to let go of things I couldn’t change and yield to the Potter’s hands. You know, sometimes, we just have to say, “Yep, that happened” and move on!

A non-fiction keeper is Ethel Herr’s Introduction to Christian Writing. I love a book that teaches and ministers at the same time. The first time I read her book, I gobbled it up like a dieting woman partaking of a forbidden stash while hiding in her closet.

Other instructional non-fiction books include Sol Stein’s Stein on Writing (a favorite), Thomas B. Sawyer’s Fiction Writing Demystified, and Donald Maass’s Writing the Breakout Novel. I also have a collection of Writer’s Digest Books, Elements of Fiction Writing.

Still, other authors include, Joann Penn, K.M. Weiland, and Kathy Ide. And I could go on! I can’t say no to a good book. Thank goodness for Kindle shelves!

I agree. My Kindle stays loaded.  : ) Now…

What secret talents do you have?

Gail: My kids would say my hugs have the ability to heal. When I started writing, my goal was—is to make people feel loved, needed, and wanted. People need to hear they are not a mistake. We are created by God for His purpose. And I choose to share God’s love with everyone I meet. When I get the chance, I send a hug or a heart to let them know they are loved.

A much-needed talent in our world. Last question:

If we came to your house for dinner, what would you prepare for us?

Gail: Although I’m from the south and love fried chicken and bacon, I would probably prepare Chicken Parmesean for two reasons: It can be prepared ahead, giving me more time to socialize and I absolutely love Italian food! Yummy! I’d also toss together a garden salad loaded with fresh vegetables and topped with homemade Ranch dressing—or your choice of any dressing. And like any good southern cook, I would serve mounds of baked bread smothered in butter and garlic. For our beverages, sweet iced tea with or without lemon, of course. For dessert, fresh peach cobbler topped with homemade whipped cream and coffee.  Scrumptious! Yes?

 Easy Peach Cobbler

1 stick butter

1 cup flour

1 cup sugar

1 cup milk

1 No. 2 can peaches (or 4 cups of fresh peaches)

Mix ingredients and bake for 40 minutes at 375 degrees.

Let cool. Serve with homemade whipped cream.

Enjoy!

It all sounds good to me. : ) And thanks for sharing your recipe. So glad you dropped by!


gail-johnson-head-shot-9Gail Johnson is a writer of fiction and non-fiction stories. She also writes Southern Gospel and Contemporary Gospel songs. Her Southern Gospel song, “Less of Me and More of You,” came in the top 5 runners-up in the 2010 Singing News/Solid Gospel Songwriters Search.

In the past, she has published articles and interviews on the web, in the local newspaper, and church magazines. She has also tried her hand at playwriting and Biblical Studies. A member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), she is currently working on a memoir for 2017.

You can connect with her on her Blog: Center of His Wheel, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Google+

 

 

5 thoughts on “3 Questions Wednesday with Gail Johnson

Leave a Reply

