3 Questions Wednesday with Ellen Andersen

business-card-pictureToday’s guest is my friend and fellow blogger on my personal Small Acts of Kindness blog, Ellen Andersen.

Hi, Ellen! So glad you dropped by. First question:

What books have fortified you as a writer? How?

EllenWhat Happens when Women say Yes to God by Lysa Terkeurst  gave me the impetus to write. For The Write Reason by Mary Beth Whalin is a compilation of multiple authors’ and agents’ experiences encouraging writers to keep writing . Each section is followed by a short Bible study with thought-provoking questions and challenges to tackle.

I love encouraging books! Now…

What secret talents do you have?

Ellen: Whether you’d call them talents or not is up to you, but I love to garden and I love to bake. I’m constantly learning about what grows well in the sun and what likes the shade. Different flowers and plants thrive here than in California where I grew up.  I love watching the plants grow and change over the different seasons. It’s something I’ll never stop learning. I’m happiest when my hands are dirty.

I love to bake too—mostly cookies and quick breads. I bake everything from scratch. That’s what I learned growing up and I still enjoy it. It takes a few minutes longer than using a mix but in my opinion the taste is worth it.

Wow. Bread from scratch sounds delicious! Last question: 

If we came to your house for dinner, what would you prepare for us?

Ellen: Probably taco salad.  It has lots of ingredients and gives you everything you need for an entire meal. That makes it easy, since you only have to make only one dish. For dessert, I’d likely make apple crisp and serve it with vanilla ice cream.

Sounds like I need to drop by sometimes 🙂 Thanks, Ellen, for being our guest!


business-card-pictureEllen Andersen grew up in California and has lived in Greenville, South Carolina since 2002. She loves to garden. Ellen serves in her church as a Stephen Minister. She can relate to and minister to others who are hurting since she deals with ongoing physical issues of her own. Ellen has published several devotions online at www.christiandevotions.us. Connect with her at www.ellenandersen.blogspot.com or on Twitter at @EllenAndersenSC.

One thought on “3 Questions Wednesday with Ellen Andersen

Leave a Reply

