Meet Newest Crew Member–Gail Johnson

gail-johnson-head-shot-9Today we give a big shout out to our newest Crew Member, Gail Johnson!

Welcome to the Writing Prompts Crew. Tell us a little about yourself.

Gail: I am the oldest of five and the only girl. I didn’t play with Barbie dolls until the birth of my daughter. So you can imagine the fun I had shopping with her! My favorite is the 2-story Barbie house. I am a happy wife to an electrician wannabe farmer who owns three tractors and multiple plowing implements. We live on a sand ridge. No one can say we aren’t persistent. I am mama to two of the best kids in the world, Levi (IT Tech) and Lindsay (soon to be a college student). I am a writer and love telling stories through fiction, non-fiction, and songs. My song “Less of Me and More of You” came in the top 5 runners-up in the 2010 Singing News/Solid Gospel Songwriters Search. I am currently working on a memoir for 2017.

How did you become interested in being a writer?

Gail: I don’t know if I ever became “interested” in writing. It is something I enjoy doing. In school, I loved English and history classes. However, in my early teens I laid aside my writing dreams, only creating when I couldn’t ignore the thoughts tumbling around in my head. Eventually, I returned to writing stories and in 2006, I took a creative writing class. Three years later, I enrolled in the two-year Apprentice Course with Jerry Jenkins’ Christian Writer’s Guild. In 2014, I signed-up for the Journeyman’s Course.

Can you tell us three unique things about you that we may not know?

Gail:  I write on whatever is closest to me. In the past, I have written ideas on the bottom of my shoe, 2x4s, and napkins!

There are days when I need a craft fix. I can’t help myself. I have to build something. I’ve been known to hang sheet rock and lay brick. I wear a tool belt and use power tools. Yes, I still have all ten fingers!

When I was five-years-old, I taught myself to play piano by ear while observing other pianists. Since then, music has been a big part of my life. I wake with music in my head. I am always listening, writing, or singing a tune. Through the years, my son has learned all he has to do is get the tune in my head, and I will eventually finish the song. He especially likes humming Christmas carols in July!


gail-johnson-head-shot-9Gail Johnson is a writer of fiction/non-fiction stories and songs. She has published articles and interviews on the web, in the local newspaper, and church magazines. She is currently working on a memoir for 2017. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW).

Gail and her husband live in Georgia on a 53-acre farm they share with a myriad of wildlife. Married for 29 years, they have 2 beautiful and loving children. They also have 3 dogs, a Shih Tzu named Gracie, Suri, a Schnauzer, and a rescue pup named Doug.

A retired cosmetologist and home school mom, Gail enjoys photography, reading, and listening to music. She also enjoys watching BBC and GPB television. You can connect with her on her Blog: Center of His Wheel, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google+Goodreads, and Pinterest.

 

8 thoughts on “Meet Newest Crew Member–Gail Johnson

Leave a Reply

