God Bless Us Every One by Eva Marie Everson

headshot (1)Today we welcome multi-award winning, best-selling author, Eva Marie Everson, to discuss her latest release, God Bless Us Every One.

Hello, Eva! How long have you been writing?

Eva: As soon as I learned how to spell, I started putting stories together. I wrote for my hometown newspaper as a ten-year-old. I started writing “novels” at 13. So … a long, long time. But professionally, I decided in 1997 that it was time to stop talking about it and do it. I knew a door would open… and it did.

Why did you choose to write in your particular field or genre?

Eva:  I know Southern … I am Southern. After writing several novels, some with more of a slant toward the South, I knew that was where I needed to be.

What are some of the references you used while researching your book?

Eva: Depends. God Bless Us Every One required a lot of reading about Charles Dickens. Things I didn’t know! I spent time at the library, online, etc. And I watched several movies based on his books, looking for clues as to what I learned about him. 

What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

Eva:  I decided to set this book in Testament, NC, which I created for The Road to Testament. So I got to “go back” and resurrect some of the old characters I’d loved so much in a town based on my beloved “Rutherfordton, NC” … ahhhh…. The other things is that this book deals with forgiving and trusting someone who has hurt you to the core. We all have that in our lives, don’t we? I think it will strike a chord in a lot of readers.

What do your plans for future projects include?

Eva:  I have a book releasing next April, The One True Love of Alice-Ann. I’m beyond excited about it. It’s set in WWII, Stateside (so many WWII books are set in Europe or the Pacific … ) and … honestly! I slipped into this story while writing it and never wanted to come out. I dreamed it at night, wrote it during the day, and talked about it to everyone in between. Truly, my heart of hearts is in that book.

Thanks for taking time to drop by, Eva!


God Bless Us Every One

GodBlessUsEOCharlene Dixon–called Charlie by family and friends–is devastated at the recent loss of her job. For the last five years, the twenty-seven-year-old has blossomed as the activities director of an exclusive all-girls school. But when a misunderstanding with the headmistress leads to a pink slip right before the holidays, Charlie packs up her dreams and returns to her grandmother, Sis, who raised Charlie as her own in the mountains of North Carolina.
When Charlie arrives–broken and confused–Sis immediately puts her granddaughter to work behind the scenes of the local school’s Christmas play, A Christmas Carol. Charlie prickles at working with Dustin Kennedy, the drama teacher and her old crush from schooldays, but is even more put out at that the choice of the Dickens’ classic for the holiday performance. When she discovers her estranged father’s involvement her world turns on its head once more. But when Sis and Dustin encourage her to take a deeper look at the story behind A Christmas Carol, Charlie learns about trust, faith, and forgiveness and the needs of people in their own community.

headshot (1)Eva Marie Everson is a multi-award winning, best-selling author of both fiction and fiction. She is the president of Word Weavers International, the director of Florida Christian Writers Conference, and the managing editor of Firefly Southern Fiction. She enjoys working with new authors through her company, Pen In Hand, Inc. She is married, has three children, and the world’s greatest grandchildren. She can be found at EvaMarieEversonAUTHOR.com
One thought on “God Bless Us Every One by Eva Marie Everson

Leave a Reply

