World Travel – A Stamp In Your Passport

by Betty Owens

“…but Jack–Jack gave me the perfect gift–a stamp in my passport…”

Remember that line from the movie While You Were Sleeping? I do, because I’d always wanted a stamp in my passport. I didn’t have a passport, but I wanted one. And getting a stamp in your passport means you’ve been somewhere other than your home country.

GuayaquilI now have a passport, and it has a stamp in it. Just one.

Ecuador.

Our route took us to Miami then south, in an almost straight flight plan to Guayaquil. We didn’t even change time zones, except they don’t have daylight savings time. It stays the same year around. And it was winter there, though it was July. Hard to imagine, I know.

In Guayaquil, it was warm and humid, but in Cuenca–our destination–it was much cooler, since the altitude is around 8,000 feet. The city is ancient–it was officially settled by the Spaniards in the 1500s, but it had been around for a lot longer. The real adventure began for us when we left our hotel in Guayaquil. The highway wound its way up to around 14,000 feet, then back down. The city of Cuenca lies in a high mountain valley.

11110509_10204170624365310_3489856107082246488_oI never expected to be there, so I had to keep reminding myself that I was in the Andes Mountains of Ecuador. And I now had a stamp in my passport. I have pictures and stories posted on my personal blog, just in case you’re interested: A Morning at Mas Cafe, Adventures in Ecuador, and A Little History of Cuenca.

Throughout September, we’re talking World Travel. I know some of our crew have exotic destinations to tell you about. Whether it’s a place they’ve actually visited, or an item on their wish list, it’s going to be fun!

So what’s your dream destination? Where would you choose to go if you could go anywhere in the world?

Here are the top 3 destinations (if money is no object), according to Fox News Travel:

  1. Australia
  2. Bora Bora
  3. A cruise around the world

suitcases-595327_1280So grab your passports, and pack your bags, because we are headed into all the world. I hope you’re following our blog so you can keep up. Where will our next post take you?

Writing Prompt: “So what’s the holdup here?” Ralph was impatient to get outside the airport and see the country he’d dreamed of, planned and saved for, all his adult life. But the lines in customs were especially long and crowded, and apparently, a lot of those in front of him had problems. He pulled out a handkerchief to mop his brow. He’d no sooner stuffed it back in his pocket when the woman behind him jabbed his arm and began to speak in a language he didn’t recognize. She seemed quite alarmed. What was going on?

 

Save

Leave a Reply

