Dishonor: One Soldier’s Journey from Desertion to Redemption by David Mike

FullSizeRender (1)Today, we welcome David Mike to our blog. His debut book, Dishonor, releases  on August 30th…

Hello, David! How long have you been writing?

David: I’m a storyteller and have been since I was a child. We moved around a lot because my father was in the military. Every new place we landed, I found myself talking about where I came from and all the things I did. As far as actually writing, only three years. I mentioned in a Facebook group that I had a crazy story to tell about my life and that I wanted to write a book. The advice I was given was to start a blog and develop a following. So, I wrote my entire rough draft through blogging at www.dilemmamike.com/the-fort-leavenworth-story.

Why did you choose to write in your particular field or genre?

David: My book is a memoir. From time to time, I would mention bits and pieces of the past to people in my life. Every single time, the response was, “You need to write a book.” Having never written anything in my life before, I constantly dismissed it. My story is about redemption through grace and forgiveness. I knew that if I could share it, there were people that would be helped if they heard it. Broken, messed up people like me, needed to hear that God forgave us 2000 years ago, no matter what…

What are some of the references you used while researching your book?

David: Once I began the actual writing process from memory, my mother handed me a bag and said, “You might want these.” Inside was a stack of letters that I wrote to my parents after leaving home for the Army in 1987 through my second year in prison in 1991. This gave me a chronological list of events as well as names, dates, and places of things I never would have remembered. I also found my entire court-martial transcript which included, testimonies and police records. There were some internet articles that I looked up to confirm some of the military events that occurred during the time period. Most importantly, the book Classic Christianity by Bob George was instrumental in defining what God’s grace and forgiveness actually meant.

What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

David: Because so many people followed my weekly blog posts as I wrote the story, I received so much support and encouragement. The best part is that several people reached out to me letting me know that my story provided hope for family members that were in the same situation. That there was light at the end of the tunnel so to speak. I can’t take credit for any of this though because I know that God places people in our lives for a reason.

What do your plans for future projects include?

David: My goal is to get copies of my book into prisons. That is where God chose to reveal his message of grace and forgiveness to me and so I would love to reciprocate. I also enjoy writing humorous tales from my youth which I might turn into a book or the cute and hilarious things my almost six-year-old daughter says which I have coined #Anikaisms.

Sounds like your book can really make a difference in people’s lives, David. Thanks for stopping by!

David has graciously consented to give away an autographed paperback of Dishonor to one blessed reader. (U.S. only) Please leave a comment below to be entered…


Cover_ebook-01Dishonor: One Soldier’s Journey from Desertion to Redemption 

In his memoir, Dishonor, David shares his personal story of how God used his time in an army prison to teach him grace and forgiveness. His hope is that readers will be freed from guilt and shame, no longer defined by their past, redeemed by Christ’s love.

 

 


FullSizeRender (1)David Mike is a Christ follower, husband, father, author, blogger, and cosmetology instructor in Omaha, Nebraska. David is passionate about sharing the message that we do not have to be defined by our past and that God can use our kind of mess for good. Dishonor is his first book which releases August 30th 2016.

Blog: http://dilemmamike.com

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/dilemmamikeblog

Book Launch Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/DavidMikeBookLaunch

Twitter: @dilemmamike

Instagram: @dilemmamike

Pinterest: @dilemmamike

28 thoughts on “Dishonor: One Soldier’s Journey from Desertion to Redemption by David Mike

  1. David, reading this and hearing how you turned your life story into something used to spread the gospel is amazing! As a fellow author, I appreciate and admire how you can so freely share and write about your own struggles. Thank you for being an inspiration, and I can’t wait to see your book!

  2. I am loving the book so far. I love the honesty and the suspense also. With the excitement of what has happened so far i cant wait to read what happens next. I’m not sure if you remember but you got me involved with a facebook group that has helped me a lot. Thank you for that also.

  3. I read this story while it was blogged one piece at a time but I can’t wait to read it again as a book. I plan to buy several copies to give friends I do prison ministry with. I can’t wait to see what God does next.

    • Jennifer, your endorsement was so powerful that I put it on the back cover! Thank you for all your support and encouragement! I hope my story compliments your ministry. Humbled that you will use it.

  4. Your story is one of the best redemption stories. It’s helped me to continue to grow from the dark place I was in. Thank you for showing others there is always a way back to the light.

    • Thank you for sticking with me through this process. It has taken a long time to get to this point. I hope that many will find peace in God’s redemption through reading it.

  5. David, thank you so much for sharing your testimony! There is not pit too deep that the Lord can’t lift us up from. This book will bring many hope and encouragement. Blessings!

  6. David, I continually try to impress on my children to “own” their mistakes. You are a good example of that. Once you own it, then you can begin to obtain forgiveness. I think it is important for us to “move on” from the mistake so healing can begin. Can’t wait to read the book!

    • Hello fellow Air Force brat! At our church one of our mottos is real is better than perfect. There is only one perfect man, and we are not Him. It’s cool that you’re teaching your kids this message. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

  7. I feel God gives us what we can handle only with his help. So the more we reach out for God he is there, we just need to listen and ask family and friends for help also.

Leave a Reply

