3 Questions Wednesday with Jordyn Redwood

Jordyn-35eWelcome back to 3 Questions Wednesday, Jordyn Redwood. She was the first author we interviewed way back when we started 3 Questions Wednesday. 🙂 Jordyn is a pediatric ER nurse by day, suspense novelist by night.

So let’s get to the first question:

What books have fortified you as a writer? How?

Jordyn: I have a TON of writing/craft books on hand. I usually gravitate toward anything written by James Scott Bell or Donald Maass. My favorite Donald Maass book is The Breakout Novelist: Craft and Strategies for Career Fiction Writers. I don’t know how to explain this book, but every page is sage writing advice. Most recently, the book I have absolutely loved the most was Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert. This is sound writing advice for everyone actively pursuing a career in the arts though, since Elizabeth is an author, writers are the focus of this book. What I loved about Big Magic is that it dispels many of the myths we have about writing—like you can only write when inspired, or you have to go into debt to fulfill your dreams. It’s the one writing book that I have gifted to several other writers.

Those sound like some helpful books. I’ll have to check them out. Now…

What secret talents do you have?

Jordyn: I’m an avid cross-stitcher and quilter. That’s what I do when I want to relax.

I’ve always wanted to learn how to quilt 🙂

If we came to your house for dinner, what would you prepare for us?

Jordyn: Hmm, this is a tough question since I am not the cook in my family. First, I’d probably ask if my husband was available to cook something fabulous. If not, I might consider a very laid back endeavor like pizza delivery, but if I wanted to impress (which of course I would!) it would be lasagna, garlic bread, with a nice salad and red velvet cake for dessert.

You can never fail with lasagna. Thanks so much for dropping by!

Jordyn is ready to bless one person who leaves a comment with a print copy of her latest book, Fractured Memory.


Fractured MemoryUnited States marshal Eli Cayne saved Julia Galloway’s life once…and he’s prepared to do it again. But his task would be easier if she could remember him—or the murderer who almost put her in an early grave and seems to be hunting her once more. To protect Julia from the latest threat against her life, Eli has to consider the possibility that he put an innocent man in jail. Julia has no memories of the serial killer called the Hangman, though, and no reason to trust Eli. But with the killer getting closer, she must work with Eli to confront her past—and the feelings growing between them.


Jordyn-35eJordyn Redwood is a pediatric ER nurse by day, suspense novelist by night. She hosts Redwood’s Medical Edge, a blog devoted to helping contemporary and historical authors write medically accurate fiction. Her first two novels, Proof and Poison, garnered starred reviews from Library Journal. Proof was shortlisted for the 2012 ForeWord Review’s BOTY Award, 2013 INSPY Award and the 2013 Carol Award. Her latest novel, Fractured Memory, released July, 2016. You can connect with Jordyn via Facebook, Twitter,Pinterest and her website.

14 thoughts on “3 Questions Wednesday with Jordyn Redwood

  1. Jordyn, I also love counted cross-stitch! Lasagna is one of my favorite dishes! Have a wonderful Wednesday! 🙂

    • Wow, I have tried crochet and not been able to get a handle on it. I don’t know how you come up with such amazing designs off the top of your head! I’ve seen my grandmother make the most beautiful doilies without a pattern. I sit in awe.

  2. You can’t go wrong with Lasagna and I might have to hit you up for your Red Velvet Cake recipe, if you are willing to share – it might go well in our Tea Room! You ever think of coming to Oregon for a book signing at Lovejoy’s??

  3. So nice to meet you! I can’t imagine being a pediatric ER nurse by day, and still being able to write! My hat is off to you! Fractured sounds intriguing! Our neurological make-up is amazing, and little understood. Thanks for all you do!

Leave a Reply

