3 Questions Wednesday with Jennifer Hallmark

IMG_6336-300Today’s 3 Questions Wednesday guest is Writing Prompts’  founder and editor-in-chief, Jennifer Hallmark.

Welcome to 3 Questions, Jennifer. You know the drill–

What books have fortified you as a writer? How?

Jennifer: Right now, three books are my go-to reads. These are not so much craft books as they are encouragement for writers.

First, like Edie Melson said last week, I love James Scott Bell’s book, The Art of War for Writers.  When I am discouraged and want to quit for the hundredth time, I flip it open and remind myself that it’s not easy but it’s what I want to do. I read it at least once a  year.

Next is The Audacity to be a Writer compiled by Bryan Hutchinson. It’s a collection of 50 articles from his blog, Positive Writer, and others. It’s refreshing and inspiring.

The third book is one that helped me as much as any I’ve ever read. Unleash the Writer Within by Cecil Murphy changed the way I looked at writing. It gave me permission to go to that elusive next level by learning that being myself when I write is not only okay but essential.

Wow, those all sound like must-reads. I agree that we writers need positive encouragement and inspiration to keep the creative fires burning. Next question:

What secret talents do you have?

Jennifer: Art in all forms. I actually attended college to major in art. I love cartooning, all types of needlework, and cake decorating. Being creative in artsy ways is very relaxing for me. 🙂

I have always admired artists and their beautiful creations.  How blessed you are to have that gift! I can join you only in cake decorating–that’s as artistic as I can get. And speaking of that…

If we came to your house for dinner, what would you prepare for us?

Jennifer: I’d make sure my husband, Danny, was off work so he could grill for you: chicken, thick pork chops, or a T-bone steak. I’d boil some fresh potatoes from the garden and fry squash and green tomatoes. Oh, and don’t forget the black-eyed peas. Add in a pan of cornbread and sweet tea and we’ll have a feast, southern-style. For dessert, I’d make a blackberry or peach cobbler, depending which you’d rather have. You can go here for my simple recipe. And top it off with homemade vanilla ice cream.

What time is dinner served? Count me in for that southern feast–my mouth’s already watering.  And I vote for peach cobbler, please. Sounds delicious!

Jennifer is offering a $10 Amazon gift card to one blessed person who leaves a comment. That way, you can buy plenty of books for summer reading…


Not AloneNot Alone: A Literary and Spiritual Companion for Those Confronted with Infertility and Miscarriage

Our society understands how terrible the loss of a child is when that child is out of the womb, but what about when a child dies before birth? Or what about the emptiness that comes when a very-much-wanted child is never even conceived?

These quiet, private losses are hard for those who have not experienced them to understand. And these losses leave those who have suffered them feeling alone in their grief.

Not Alone: A Literary and Spiritual Companion for Those Confronted with Infertility and Miscarriage is a resource both for those who have suffered through these experiences and for their friends and relatives, who want to understand what their loved ones are going through.

This collection contains true stories that are:

  • sensitive, and yet honest
  • angry and raw, but not despairing
  • unique, and yet relatable

The contributors to this book are male and female, old and young, some who eventually had children and some who never did, and yet despite their differences, they share a common grief and a common faith.

No experience of miscarriage, infant loss, or infertility is like any other, yet by reading these painful and hope-filled stories, you’ll be comforted by knowing there are others who understand the journey you’re on, the loss you’ve suffered, and you will find that even though your loss is uniquely yours, you are not alone.


Jennifer HallmarkJennifer Hallmark is a writer of Southern fiction and also fantasy; a combination that keeps the creative juices flowing. She’s published over 200 articles and interviews on the internet, short stories in several magazines, and been part of four book compilations: A Dozen Apologies, Sweet Freedom A La Mode, Unlikely Merger, and Not Alone: A Literary and Spiritual Companion for Those Confronted with Infertility and Miscarriage.

When she’s not working in the garden or keeping the grandkids, you can find her at:

http://www.jenniferhallmark.com

https://writingpromptsthoughtsideas.wordpress.com

https://www.facebook.com/jenniferhallmark

https://www.facebook.com/authorjenniferhallmark

https://twitter.com/JenHwrites

https://www.pinterest.com/jenlhallmark989/

6 thoughts on “3 Questions Wednesday with Jennifer Hallmark

  1. Great to hear about your interests and accomplishments! Dinner sounds great – and I’m headed over to find that recipe! My husband and I were not able to conceive children. We adopted. There is such a misunderstanding from those who either do not want children or who have birth children. Thank you for helping address the forgotten families.

    • Thanks for dropping by, Lisa. When I heard of the project addressing miscarriage and infertility, I wanted to be a part. Hopefully, it will bring more understanding 😃

  2. Jennifer, I so admire those who are crafty. Cartooning sounds like lots of fun! Thank you for be a part of the healing process for those who are hurting in the area of miscarriage and infertility.

Leave a Reply

