A Promise in Defiance by Heather Blanton

on_log2Please welcome Heather Blanton as she chats with me about her latest book, A Promise in Defiance.

Hi, Heather! Beautiful book cover :) Here’s your first question:

How long have you been writing?

Heather: I remember drawing pictures before I could write and telling my daddy the stories about each one while he worked underneath a car. When I was about 5, I dictated a story to Momma and she typed it up. I’m still mad she had the nerve to change a sentence. Editors.

Why did you choose to write in your particular field or genre?

Heather: I didn’t have any choice, I think. My daddy was a cowboy when he was young, and when I was old enough, he taught me to shoot. I’ll never shoot like he did, though. You could throw a quarter up in the air and Daddy could blow a hole through it. Coolest thing you’ve ever seen. He got the idea from the movie Support Your Local Sheriff. Plus, I remember watching Gunsmoke, Bonanza and John Wayne movies and knowing my dad’s tougher than all of ’em. It all just stuck, I guess you could say.

What are some of the references you used while researching your book?

Heather: I am a huge fan of archives and I’m fortunate enough to live near UNC-Chapel Hill which has some great collections. I also use the http://newspapers.wyo.gov/ site. For a Western writer, this is the mecca of newspapers, perhaps second only to the Texas sites. The Wyoming papers are full of Wild West stories. But for Book 3, A Promise in Defiance, I hit real pay dirt when I discovered Pistol Packin’ Preachers: Circuit Riders of Texas by Barbara Barton (http://amzn.to/1Y6r9j0) It’s nothing but story after story of the brave men who faced bandits, bullets, Indians, and their own demons to share the gospel. Those preachers crossed hundreds of miles of mean, desolate, savage country on a regular basis. Talk about sufferin’ for Jesus.

What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

Heather: Killing a main character. That’s horrible, I know, and possibly says something disturbing about my psyche. Not to mention, it’s risky. I didn’t do it to be mean. The death mirrors Christ’s death on the cross. I wanted to show the ultimate sacrifice.

Mostly the reviews from my beta readers have been great, but I’ve had one really passionate reaction to it. Passionate meaning negative! I think if this reader could have reached through Facebook and throttled me, she would have. So while I might have enjoyed writing the story this way, I may wind up paying dearly for it. We’ll see, I reckon.

What do your plans for future projects include?

Heather: Learning how not to overcommit! I’m working on Book 2 in my Love and War in Johnson County series, and have two novellas due out in the fall, one of which is going to be in a collection from Rivulet Publishing.

Also, I wrote a script for my first book, A Lady in Defiance which has been perused by some producers in Hollywood. The script garnered some serious interest so now I am working with award-winning scriptwriter Zena Dell Lowe to tweak it. Brian Bird, a partner at Believe Pictures, wants to see the revision, and Hollywood producer Mark Headly is extremely interested in the possibility of producing it. It’s a slow train but at least it’s leaving the station.

Wow. A movie. What a blessing. Thanks for stopping in for a visit, Heather!

Heather has graciously offered 5 e-book copies of A Promise in Defiance. What a great gift. Just leave a comment to be entered to win…


promise_ebookA Promise in Defiance

CHOICES HAVE CONSEQUENCES…EVEN FOR THE REDEEMED. 
When Charles McIntyre founded Defiance, he was more than happy to rule in hell rather than serve in heaven. But things have changed. Now, he has faith, a new wife…and a ten-year-old half-breed son. Infamous madam Delilah Goodnight wants to take it all away from him. How can he protect his kingdom and his loved ones from her schemes without falling back on his past? How does he fight evil if not with evil?

Logan Tillane carries a Bible in his hand, wears a gun on his hip, and fights for lost souls any way he can. Newly arrived in Defiance, he has trouble, though, telling saints from sinners. The challenge only worsens when Delilah flings open the doors to the scandalous Crystal Chandelier. She and the new preacher have opposite plans for the town. One wants to save it, one wants to lead it straight to hell.

For Tillane and McIntyre, finding redemption was a long, hard road. God’s grace has washed away their sins, but the consequences remain and God will not be mocked. For whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap…and the harvest is finally at hand.

http://amzn.to/1sviBGM


on_log2Heather Blanton is the independent bestselling author of several Christian Westerns, including the Romance in the Rockies series, which has sold over 40,000 copies. Heather’s writing is gritty and realistic. In fact, her books have been compared to AMC’s Hell on Wheels series, as well as the legendary Francine Rivers book, Redeeming Love.

A former journalist, Heather loves exploring the American West, especially ghost towns and museums. She has walked parts of the Oregon Trail, ridden horses through the Rockies, climbed to the top of Independence Rock, and even held an outlaw’s note in her hand. She’s been in a real fistfight too, but she didn’t start it.

She can be reached several different ways:

http://ladiesindefiance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/authorheatherblanton/?ref=hl
https://twitter.com/heatherfblanton
https://www.pinterest.com/heatherfblanton/

4 thoughts on “A Promise in Defiance by Heather Blanton

  1. I loved this interview and it is refreshing to know that Hollywood wants to produce a movie of a Christian book. Happy Dance.

  2. How fun to get to know Heather better.. She sounds like my kind of gal! I have the first two books in this series, so good..
    Thank you for a chance to read this one too 🙂

  3. It was a pleasure visiting with Heather! This series sounds great! Thank you for the opportunity to win A Promise in Defiance. 🙂

  4. I have read some of her other books and would love to read this one as well!
    Would really enjoy seeing the movie. Thanks for the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

