Mandy and the Mayor by Jean C. Gordon

Jeanne Gordon-1411-LR-ColorPlease welcome Jean C. Gordon as she chats with me about her latest book, Mandy and the Mayor.

Hi, Jean! Love the title of your book. (My daughter’s name is Mandy) 🙂 Here’s your first question:

How long have you been writing?

Jean: I’ve been writing since I was a teen. My first published piece was an essay I wrote about our family’s Christmas traditions when I was in high school. It appeared in the Buffalo Evening News. I studied journalism in college and worked for two small newspapers, The Batavia Daily News (NY) and The Montebello News (CA) before I took a job with a tax and financial publisher in Albany, NY, after I completed my Masters degree in public affairs. I started writing romance in the late 1990s.

Why did you choose to write in your particular field or genre?

Jean: I’m a fact and numbers sort of person and like being more behind the scenes, which is why I went into financial writing, rather than sticking with newspaper reporting. As for romance writing, I’m a sucker for happily ever after endings. And, with my often-intense day job, at night, I wanted to read—and later write— something happy and uplifting.

What are some of the references you used while researching your book?

Jean: Mandy and the Mayor is a light romantic romp that didn’t require much research. I was already familiar with the Adirondack Mountains area from vacationing there. I based the program my heroine was hired through on AmeriCorps, which my daughter served in for two years. I visited the websites of several small villages in the Adirondacks to get details about village governments.

What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

Jean: I wrote the original hardcover version of this book in 2001, so I don’t really remember. What I enjoyed about updating it for the eBook release was discovering how much my writing has evolved since I wrote it and how much I still like the story. As a rule, I don’t reread my books after they’ve been published. It was kind of fun.

What do your plans for future projects include?

Jean: Have I got projects. I recently signed a contract for two more Love Inspired Romances. I’m busy working on the first one. The hero is an ex-convict who is trying to get custody of his motherless sons, and the heroine is a social worker who is involved with a program to help families successfully transition to changed circumstances, such as divorce or the death of a parent. I’m also half finished with a fun novella for an anthology I’m writing with two friends titled The Matchmakers. It features two octogenarian matchmakers who want to see their grandchildren as happily matched as they are. Finally, I have the first book in a new series coming out in October. Mending the Motocross Champion introduces readers to Team Macachek. Join the strong women and fearless men of the professional motocross circuit.

Sounds like you have a lot of matchmaking to do in the coming months! Thanks for stopping by!

Jean is ready to bless one person with a Kindle copy of Mandy and the Mayor. Please leave a comment below to be entered in the drawing.


Mandy and the MayorMandy And The Mayor-lo

The last place Mandy Harris would choose to spend her summer is where she is—Whitmore Mills, a sleepy village in the Adirondack Mountains.. Mayor Thaddeus Whitmore wouldn’t live anywhere else. His mission is to vindicate his family name and return prosperity to his dying hometown. While Thad’s great Aunt Aggie plays matchmaker, Mandy and Thad clash on everything, from the village board hiring her as the summer recreation program director, to her recreation programs, to his resort plans to boost the local economy. And more than a few sparks fly in the process. But are they enough to burn through Mandy and Thad’s differences and ignite the flame of everlasting love?


Jeanne Gordon-1411-LR-ColorFor Amazon Bestselling inspirational and sweet romance author Jean C. Gordon, writing is a natural extension of her love of reading. From that day in first grade when she realized t-h-e was the word “the,” she’s been reading everything she can put her hands on. She and her college-sweetheart husband tried the city life in Los Angeles, but quickly returned home to their native small-town Upstate New York, where she sets her books.

A founding member of the Capital Region Romance Writers (Albany, NY), Jean currently serves as membership chair. She’s also a member of RWA’s Faith, Hope and Love Chapter, the American Christian Fiction Writers, and Novelists, Inc.

Jean is currently working on a new series for Harlequin Love Inspired Romance. The Bachelor’s Sweetheart, book three of her Love Inspired series, THE DONNELLY BROTHERS: Hometown boys make good . . . and find love releases in August.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Mandy and the Mayor by Jean C. Gordon

Leave a Reply

