The Autumns In My Life

By Betty Boyd 

Slide1

Autumn is truly my favorite season. I love the crispness in the air, the warm inviting afternoons. My favorite activity is photography. Since I am intrigued by the colors of leaves on the trees, this is the best time of year take photos, and offers the most fun in capturing the beauty Autumn has to offer. I also love to take advantage of the fantastic weather during Autumn.

Autumn is the most colorful season. I cannot get enough of the breathtaking pallet offered. Each tree, flower and shrub are bursting forth with their own unique grandeur of colors. I also like the smell of the leaves as they start to fall to the ground. Oh, what fun you can have just diving into a pile of freshly raked leaves!

Do you know the origin of this wonderful season?  No one is exactly sure except to say “falling” leaves has some merit. Eventually, when this term became popular in North America, and the result was from the word autumnus, an Etruscan word that maybe related to the Latin augere, meaning “to increase.”

Regardless, Autumn is such a positive season. Everyone needs more color in their lives and this season has it all. I need to drink up all that Autumn has to offer. I do not like that winter follows. The prospect of cold is one I do not relish.

Finally, Autumn is inviting, magical, and just down right cool.

So what is your favorite thing to do in Autumn?

pumpkinsComplete the prompt below for an extra entry in our blogaversary drawing! Submit your completed writing prompt via Comments.

Can you write a story with these four words?

  • Autumn
  • Color
  • Leaves
  • Crispness
One thought on “The Autumns In My Life

  1. One of my favorite things to do in Autumn is taking a nice long walk. I enjoy the crispness of the air and the crunch of the leaves. The color of Autumn is SPECTACULAR!

Leave a Reply

