3 Questions Wednesday with Cherie Burbach

IMG_0689Please welcome Cherie Burbach, poet, mixed media artist, and freelance writer , to 3 Questions Wednesday.

Glad you could join us, Cherie. First question.

What books have fortified you as a writer? How?

Cherie: I love a variety of books. The Psalms in the Bible and the Book of John are favorites. I go back to poetry books again and again (anything by Maya Angelou, Emily Dickinson, or Rumi) and I go back to The Prophet and On Writing from time to time also.

Poetry is my first love, so the Psalms appeal to me for a variety of reasons. First, that they reveal the emotional side of King David. What a wonderful perspective we have on him because of the Psalms. Also, because they are filled with emotion, so if you’re struggling or happy you are likely to find something that resonates.

I cannot imagine my writing life without poetry. Word choice and description are so important in poetry, and expressing myself that way helps me in all the other writing I do, even with my freelance writing work for clients.

Poetry and art go together so I’m not surprised. Now…

What secret talents do you have?

Cherie: The ability to organize any drawer or closet. If I wasn’t a writer I’d have become a professional organizer. I do paint quite a lot and can crochet an afghan like nobody’s business. My grandma taught me that.

Oh, I like to organize too. But I don’t think I’d do it for a living. 🙂 Last question:

If we came to your house for dinner, what would you prepare for us?

Cherie: I’ve been hooked on trying out different soup recipes for a while now, and make them for my family when we watch the Packer game, so I’m sure I’d whip up one of those for dinner. Then probably my 40 clove garlic chicken with some rice, a salad with fruit and greens, and a nice dessert to make sure you don’t leave hungry.

Sounds delicious. Thanks, Cherie, for dropping by for a visit!

Cherie is offering a print copy of her book, 100 Simple Ways to Have More Friends, to one of our friends who leave a comment. So add yours…

 

100 Simple Ways to Have More Friends51xZ3DOlc5L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

The more friends you have, the more you’ll have the right people in your life to give you the support and connection you desire. Having more friends means you’ll consistently connect with new people and also keep the good friends you already have. If your friendships don’t seem to stick, you’ll be making friends and losing them quickly. The key to having more friends is increasing the number of people you meet on a regular basis and holding on to the great pals you already have.

This book contains one hundred suggestions on how to make new friends and also strengthen the friendships you already have. The tips are varied, with suggestions on how to meet new people interspersed with ideas for nurturing your new and existing friendships.

Cherie Burbach is a poet, mixed media artist, and freelance writer specializing in lifestyle and relationships. She’s written for About.com, NBC/Universal, Match.com, Christianity Today, and more. Visit her website for more info, cherieburbach.com.

 

14 thoughts on “3 Questions Wednesday with Cherie Burbach

  1. Since early childhood, I have always felt a bit lonely, even now in the midst of my big family. I too relate to the Psalms and the numerous shades of emotion expressed so poetically. I would be very blessed by 100 Ways to Have More Friends. <

    • Jeana,
      People forget that you can be lonely in the midst of a large group. It’s not about being alone but about feeling connection. I pray that you find that connection you crave. Nice to meet another person who likes the Psalms!

  2. Cherie – you really have a lot of talents. Writing poetry, creating art from glass, and now organizing?!?! If I ever go to your house I’m going to check out your cabinets and drawers – I can’t wait to see…!

  3. I have found that making friends is not easy for me! I’ve always been shy.. an introvert if you will. Even in high school I didn’t have many friends. It’s hard and lonely. I know that this doesn’t define who I am, but I would love to read this book and discover how to make friends more easily. So inspiring, thank you.

  4. I have three close friends that I’ve cherished since childhood. I am an introvert and have a hard time meeting new people and making small talk, which makes it hard to make new friends.

  5. Growing up, I moved around a lot since Dad was in the Air Force. I always managed to make friends at my new school, but it was awkward every time because I couldn’t approach people. If someone initiates a conversation, I’m fine. Especially as an adult, it is difficult. I don’t have school to force myself into being around people. My husband took a job a few years ago that moved us away from friends & family, & since we have 2 small children, I don’t even have coworkers to become my friends. Hopefully once my girls start school I will have more opportunities.

Leave a Reply

