Broken Valentine by Ginger Solomon

Ginger 8 - brightenedToday I’d like to introduce my friend, author Ginger Solomon. She and I meet each month with a great group of writers.  Her latest book is out and I’ve asked her a few questions…

Hi, Ginger! How long have you been writing?

Ginger: I know a lot of writers say they’ve been writing since their elementary school days, but I’m not one of them. Yes, I wrote, but only when necessary or in my journal. A few years after the birth of my seventh child, in 2004, I had the urge to write, but I remember sitting and staring at the blank page with no earthly idea what I was supposed to say. Then, probably around 2008 or 2009, I had a dream. Nothing unusual, right? Except it wouldn’t leave me alone, so I wrote it down. It became my first novel. It has since been lost in a computer crash, but I still remember the concept of that first story clearly.

The short answer to the question is about eight years. 🙂

Why did you choose to write in your particular field or genre?

Ginger: I have always loved to read, and as I hit my teen years Harlequin was my book of choice. I’m not sure my mother knew what was in those books because even back then (in the 80s), they were a bit racy. Anyway, they fostered my love of romance. I’m not really particular about the genre of romance I read, and I plan to branch out from contemporary, which is what I’m currently published in, in the near future.

What are some of the references you used while researching your book?

Ginger: Broken Valentine is purely fictional, and not based in a real setting. I used Google Maps to help me decide on a good location, Pinterest to find my characters, the Mayo Clinic website to help with injuries, and writing friends.

What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

Ginger: This book seemed to veritably fly from my fingertips. From my first word written to publication took me about six weeks, which to me is phenomenal. I have never before had a story flow so easily onto the page. So I think I enjoyed the writing process this time the most. Then again, I almost always enjoy that process the most. The editing… not so much. 🙂

What do your plans for future projects include?

Ginger: I plan to write Book 3 in this series, Broken Freedom, and release it at the end of June. I also have an unrelated book releasing at the end of April, Second Choice. It is Book 2 in Belikarian Weddings Series (One Choice, my debut novel, was Book 1). Book 3, Love’s Choice, is written and going through my critique group. I hope to have it to my publisher by the time Second Choice releases, or shortly thereafter.

After that, who knows? I’d like to continue with the Broken Holidays Series, but we’ll see how Broken Freedom turns out. I’d also like to edit and publish at least one of the Scottish historical novels I have written. It’s a series that I’d love to get back into writing.

Thanks for stopping in for a visit, Ginger!

Ginger Solomon is a Christian, a wife, a mother to seven, and a writer — in that order (mostly). When not homeschooling her youngest four, doing laundry or fixing dinner, she writes or reads romance of any genre, some sci-fi/fantasy, and some suspense. She’s a member of American Christian Fiction Writers, president of her local writing group, and writes regularly for two blogs. In addition to all that, she loves animals, likes to do needlework (knitting, crocheting, and sometimes cross-stitch), and is a fan of Once Upon a Time and Dr. Who.

Website

Inspy Romance Blog

Facebook Author Page

Twitter @GingerS219

Pinterest

Broken Valentine Broken Valentine cover

Being stood up on Valentine’s Day is not how Sarah Sawyer wanted the evening to go. It only gets worse when she discovers her boyfriend’s betrayal. Accepting a ride home from her attractive waiter goes against everything she’s been taught, but her choices are limited.

Michael Richmond can’t let his beautiful, yet heart-broken customer walk home, no matter how tired he is after working fourteen hour days all week.

It might be either the best decision of his life or the worst. Only time will tell if their broken hearts can become one, or if they will tear each other apart.

Broken Valentine is the second book in the Broken Holidays Series, but can be read as a stand-alone.

Amazon 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Broken Valentine by Ginger Solomon

  1. A six-week publication journey? That’s phenomenal!

    I enjoyed reading your interview and found you on Twitter. :0)

    Susan

Leave a Reply

