3 Questions Wednesday with Jodie Bailey

jodie baileyToday we welcome award-winning author, Jodie Bailey, to 3 Questions Wednesday!

Welcome back to our blog, Jodie! First question…

What books have fortified you as a writer? How?

Jodie: That is a tough question, because there are so many ways to answer it, depending on where I “am” at the time.  Craft books?  The Art of War for Writers by James Scott Bell is my very favorite.  It covers everything in small chunks, and every time I get to the end, I start right back over.  It’s smart, encouraging, and realistic, all at the same time.  The Emotion Thesaurus helps me craft my characters.  And there are some fiction books/writers that I read over and over, because they inspire me like mad:  Rachel Hauck’s characters, Siri Mitchell’s settings, Jessica Patch’s “kissing scenes…”  But when I really want to remember why I’m a writer, I read Betty Smith’s A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. It’s my favorite book of all time because I so “get” Francie in all of her emotions and her heart.  She’s a writer, and it infuses her entire view of the world.

Great choices! I read The Art of War for Writers at least once a year.  Now about you…

What secret talents do you have?

Jodie: I can ride a Harley.  I am not afraid to ask anybody anything when it involves research, which has taken me some crazy places.  I have the uncanny ability to remember the world’s most useless facts, but I can’t remember names to save my life sometimes.  Not sure those are talents though.

To me, riding a motorcycle takes lots of talent. 🙂 Last question:

If we came to your house for dinner, what would you prepare for us?

Jodie: I am a HUGE fan of our charcoal grill.  So… I’m thinking steak, loaded baked potatoes, sauteed mushrooms, and salad, with homemade banana pudding for dessert.  Or, if we’re not grilling, I have a recipe for chicken and cheese enchiladas with green onions and sour cream sauce that will bring you back for seconds!

Wow. Where do you live again? Thanks, Jodie, for stopping by!

Jodie has graciously offered to give away a print copy of Compromised Identity to one blessed reader. So leave a comment below for your chance to win!

Compromised Identity

Staff sergeant Jessica Dylan confronts a female soldier in the 9780373447169act of stealing her laptop—and almost pays with her life. But a blue-eyed mystery man rushes to her aid just in time, and Jessica learns the handsome army staff sergeant has been investigating her. Sean Turner believes a ring of cyber terrorists who’ve been attacking military bases are now specifically targeting Jessica. And he’s determined to figure out why they are tracking her every move. As the threats against Jessica escalate and attempts are made on her life, Sean vows to stop the hackers. Yet the heart-scarred soldier is set on keeping an emotional distance…especially when they discover what the terrorists are really after.

Jodie Bailey writes novels about freedom and the heroes who fight for it.  Her military romantic suspense, Crossfire, won a 2014 RT Reviewers Choice Award. Quilted by Christmas, a contemporary romance from Abindgon, spent two months on the CBA bestseller list and won a 2015 Selah Award. She is convinced a camping trip to the beach with her family, a good cup of coffee, and a great book can cure all ills. Jodie lives in North Carolina with her husband, her daughter, and two dogs.

2 thoughts on “3 Questions Wednesday with Jodie Bailey

Leave a Reply

