Getting Back to Basics

By Betty Boyd

 inspirational-life-quotes-for-best-inspirational-life-quotes-2015-14

This is the time of year when we all want new beginnings and a clean slate. But I have a different take on the New Year. I really do not like to make resolutions, but would rather create solutions. I look to the New Year as a way of getting back to basics.

What is most important to me is where I have gone, where I have been, and where I want to be. I like to look back at the past year and see what I learned and still need to learn. God has given me this opportunity to see what changes I still need to make.

Getting back to basics is my theme this year—focusing on what God really wants me to do to serve Him and my fellow man. I want to listen more to His word, so I can live and be the person He intends me to be.

I am working toward having more time for prayer and listening. I am trying to find more time to be quiet, so I can actually hear God’s word. This is a challenging goal, but hopefully I can really put forth the extra effort to achieve it.

Ultimately, God can mold me into what he truly wants for me, and I want to make sure that I am doing my part in getting back to basics and really focusing on Him.

Writing Prompt – Submit your completed writing prompt via Comments.

Can you write a story about new beginnings that includes these four items?

  • Slate
  • Resolutions
  • Learning
  • Focus

 

 

One thought on “Getting Back to Basics

Leave a Reply

