Intertwined by Jennifer Slattery

BCheadshot2013Please welcome Jennifer Slattery as she chats with me about her latest book, Intertwined.

Hi, Jennifer! Pour yourself a cup of coffee. Here’s your first question:

How long have you been writing?

Jennifer: For my own enjoyment–as long as I can remember. But I answered God’s call to pursue it with focus and determination in 2009, so professionally about four years, though I began taking tentative steps in that direction maybe three years before that.

Why did you choose to write in your particular field or genre?

Jennifer: I feel in many ways what I write is a reflection of who I am. I write the stories as they unfold in my head. I’ve learned some things on the way on how to make my brand more marketable, but I’ve realized I write best when I stay true to myself. So I guess I’d have to say it just sort of happened; it was a continuation of God’s unveiling of my call to me. (That came out awkwardly,  but I think you know what I mean.)

What are some of the references you used while researching your book?

Jennifer: For Intertwined, I researched so many areas, from hospital chaplains to illnesses requiring transplants to surgery procedures. As for references, I read autobiographicals and memoirs, online articles, and talked to various health professionals. I used Google Earth to visualize locations and Google images to create three-dimensional scenes and unique minor characters. And those are the references I can remember off-hand! Haha. This was truly the most difficult book I’ve written to date, and yet God used it in a mighty way in my family’s life, so it was all worth it. (He used it to nudge my husband to donate a kidney to a stranger; so amazing and miraculous!)

What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

Jennifer:  Oh, my was it hard! Did I say it was hard? There were numerous times I felt like quitting and hurling my computer across the office. But there were also numerous sweet moments where I sensed God’s presence and guidance so strongly. What I enjoyed most was the relationship I formed with Ami Koelliker, the former organ procurement coordinator who helped me write this novel. She and I spent a great deal of time together as she taught me all the ins-and-outs of donation and hospital procedures, and listened to my plot ideas. I discovered what a special woman she is.

What do your plans for future projects include?

Jennifer: My next novel releases in March. Here’s the back cover blurb:

Sometimes it takes losing everything to grab hold of what really matters. 

Women’s ministry leader and Seattle housewife, Alice Goddard, and her successful graphic-designer husband appear to have it all together. Until their credit and debit cards are denied, launching Alice into an investigation that only leads to the discovery of secrets. Meanwhile, her husband is trapped in a downward spiral of lies, shame, and self-destruction. Can they break free from their deception and turn to the only One who can save them? And will it be in time to save their marriage?

I’m glad you dropped by, Jennifer! I wish you much success with your books. And discovering new coffee shops 🙂

IntertwinedIntertwined_N154121

Abandoned by her husband for another woman, Tammy Kuhn, an organ procurement coordinator, often finds herself in tense and bitter moments. After an altercation with a doctor, she is fighting to keep her job and her sanity when one late night she encounters her old flame Nick. She walks right into his moment of facing an unthinkable tragedy. Because they both have learned to find eternal purposes in every event and encounter, it doesn’t take long to discover that their lives are intertwined, but the ICU is no place for romance….or is it? Could this be where life begins again?

Buy Intertwined at

CBD

 

Amazon

 

B&N

Jennifer Slattery writes soul-stirring fiction for New Hope Publishers, a publishing house passionate about bringing God’s healing grace and truth to the hopeless. She also writes for Crosswalk.com, Internet Café Devotions, and the group blog, Faith-filled Friends. When not writing, Jennifer loves going on mall dates with her adult daughter and coffee dates with her hilariously fun husband.

Visit with Jennifer online at JenniferSlatteryLivesOutLoud.com and connect with her on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/JenSlatte

Leave a Reply

