My Dilemma – Coffee or Tea?

By Betty Boyd

file6981245263150I love both coffee and tea. Which one do I prefer? The smell of brewing coffee is so alluring, I just want to drink the whole pot. I first started drinking coffee as a teenager. The typical brew in those days was very bland, so I piled on the sugar and cream to make it taste better. Alas, it still lacked something, but I needed my cup of Joe, so I just tolerated it.

Much to my delight, the varieties of coffee now available are overwhelming. For example, once upon a time, the only way I could get coffee from Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks, etc., was to stop by and get it inside the store. Today, I can go to my local grocery store and purchase it directly for my consumption.

DSC_7579Another wonderful predicament is the ever-expanding number of coffee houses and bistros that are there for the tasting. I’m glad coffee comes in organic blends, and that I only have to add a touch of almond milk to really enjoy its taste (no sugar required).

file000204294989But I can’t overlook the explosion of the tea industry. Orange Pekoe was the only tea around when I was first introduced to tea. My mother would make up real sweet iced tea during the summer months, and it was delicious. For me, gone are the days of Orange Pekoe. I now enjoy chocolate, ginger, and green teas among others.

The list of coffees and teas goes on and on. I have my favorite brands, tastes, and types of coffee and tea. Coffee does win out over tea, with me, but only slightly. The health benefits of both have been researched. I want to take full advantage.

So whether it is coffee or tea, I know I will be getting a wonderful experience and there will be future varieties available for me to partake.

Complete the prompt below for an extra entry in our quarterly drawings! Submit your completed writing prompt via Comments.

Can you write a story about coffee or tea that includes these four items?

  • Tea bag
  • Coffee cup
  • Sugar
  • Flavors
Leave a Reply

