Coffee or Tea, Linda Yezak?

by Linda Yezak

LindasCupoJoeCoffee or tea, she asked me. Me. Queen of the coffee memes.

But it’s a fair question, since my reputation as a coffeeholic is highly exaggerated. Truth of the matter is that I have two to three cups of coffee max, I don’t drink it all day–iced or not–and I have been known to down a decaf.

There. The truth is out.

I’m not fancy with my coffee. I have ground my beans myself, but only when I received bags of beans as gifts. I like flavored coffees, and it doesn’t matter whether it’s a flavored mix or flavored cream, or dissolving instant cocoa in a hot cup of Folgers.

In other words, I’m not a coffee snob. Starbucks is a special treat, Folgers is my regular blend, and instant comes in handy.

still-life-892489_1280I have enough Irish in me to also enjoy afternoon tea in the cooler seasons or when I’m sick. I’m not fancy about it either. Lipton suits me fine. Celestial Seasonings, Bigelow. I like spiced, peppermint, chai, and lemon zinger. Honey lemon, too, especially when I have a sore throat. Whether coffee or tea, plain is good, flavored is better.

What I love more than either coffee or tea–or Coke, for that matter–is having one of my caffeine choices with a friend, preferably in a wonderfully chic shoppe, having a conversation elevated above laundry and cooking. Writing is my topic of choice, of course. Over the years, as I’ve attended conferences here and there, I’ve discovered my favorite part is rising early and seeing who is also an early bird in search of caffeine. I’ve had some wonderful conversations with fellow authors who have enjoyed various degrees of success, marketing whizzes who were generous with their tips, fellow editors with whom to swap stories about some of the fun things we find in our clients’ manuscripts.

coffee-cup-866786_1280And that’s the thing, isn’t it? Plain is good, flavored is better. I can have my morning coffee, sitting in my chair and watching the sun rise, same as I do every day. The plain is wonderful. I love it. But flavor it with the sweetness and spice of like-minded company, and it’s even better.

Complete the prompt below for an extra entry in our quarterly drawings! Submit your completed writing prompt via Comments. Thanks!

Linda’s Prompt:  What about you? If you could have a cup of your caffeine of choice anywhere in the world, with whomever you wished, where would you be and with whom?

Linda croppedAbout Linda Yezak — Over twenty years ago, after a decade of life as a “single-again,” author Linda Yezak rediscovered God’s love and forgiveness when He allowed her a second chance at marital happiness. She is now living her greatest romance with her husband in a forest in East Texas. After such an amazing blessing, she chooses to trumpet God’s gift of second chances in the books she writes. Linda’s novels are heart-warming hallmarks of love, forgiveness, and new beginnings.

Linda’s award winning novel, Give the Lady a Ride, is part of a collection of contemporary, faith-based romances, featuring authors Susan May Warren, Tamara Leigh, Lynnette Bonner, Lesley Ann McDaniel, and Jan Thompson. This 99c set, Much Ado About Love, is available for a limited time on Kindle.

http://dld.bz/MuchAdoAboutLove

Connect with Linda on these sites:

Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/GivetheLadyaRide

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/lyezak/

Twitter: @LindaYezak

Goodreads: http://dld.bz/dSPmg

777 Peppermint Place: http://lindayezak.com

Newsletter: http://dld.bz/CoffeewithLinda

9 thoughts on “Coffee or Tea, Linda Yezak?

    • Oh, wow. I’d love to go too. My husband was stationed there during the Vietnamese war (dating myself), and he loved the country, the people, and the food. We’ve talked about going there together someday. I hope you get to!

  1. I have to admit, one of the most spectacular cups of coffee I had was a plain instant, with a touch of unrefrigerated milk.

    It was the company and the setting that made it astounding. My husband and I (newly married) were standing beside a campfire in a game reserve in Zimbabwe, Africa, watching the sunrise over the mountains. The air was cool, mist rising from the Limpopo River. Dove darted in and out of the trees. Wildebeest, Zebra, and Giraffe moved through the bush…

    Sigh, I could go on, but I think you have the picture. That cup of coffee will be hard to beat, no matter how much I spend on a gourmet blend.

Leave a Reply

