For the Love of the Game

TammyBy Tammy Trail

Very soon my favorite time of the year will be here. I love autumn. Comfortable temperatures make great sleeping weather. Mother Nature struts her stuff with beautiful colors before the dead of winter arrives. It’s also the arrival of football season!

I admit I am not a big fan of the sport. I loved going to the high school games when my son played in the band at half time. I went to one college game because my husband and I were given free tickets. I did enjoy it. A diehard fan? No, I can’t say that I am. When watching a professional game on the television I frequently ask questions about the game. Why did the referee give a bad call? Or, has anyone won yet?

pumpkins

So, I really didn’t know what to write about this month with the topic being about football. I decided I needed to do a bit of research on the game and I feel way more educated now.

Here is a bit of football history.

Walter Camp is considered the “Father of American Football”. A Yale University and Hopkin’s school graduate. The combination of Soccer and Rugby intrigued him. He fought to change many aspects of the game to improve it and become the game loved by millions today. But the game didn’t start out the way we see it played out on television today, it evolved over time. Walter was instrumental in changing the players from 15 to 11. The line of scrimmage, and a snap from the center of the field, helped develop the Quarterback position. In 1882 Walter proposed a team must advance the ball a minimum of five yards within three downs. In 1887 tackling was allowed below the waist.

Game play was also developed by college coaches, Eddie Cockems, Amos Alonzo Stagg, Knute Rockne, and Glenn “Pop” Warner. The popularity of college games created the Bowl Games. The first professional football player can be traced back to William “Pudge” Heffelfinger, he was awarded a $500.00 contract to play for the Allegheny Athletic Association. In 1920 the American Professional Football Association was formed. Two years later, it became the National Football League. In 1958 the first NFL Championship game was played, and in 1960 the American Football League was formed. The Super Bowl is a contest between those two leagues.

Football 1

My Son in Law, Curtis is a diehard Washington Redskins fan. I asked him a few questions about his favorite past time.

Q: What makes a diehard fan paint their face and yell till they lose their voice at a game?

A: The excitement in the atmosphere. There is an adrenaline rush when you are seated in a stadium watching your favorite team with all the other fans.

Q: How long have you been a fan of football?

A: I have been a fan since I was about 8 or 9 years old. It was a favorite pastime of my family. My Dad, and older brothers watched the game, so I did too. My favorite team has always been the Redskins.

Q: Do you agree that players should get multimillion dollar contracts to play football?

A: I don’t agree with multimillion dollars contracts. A player’s passion for the game should not determine how much they get paid.

Q: Do you think the price of a ticket to see a game is too much? Are you willing to pay anything to see your team?

A: Yes and no. It depends on where the seats are located on the field. I think it should be first come first serve to get those good seats. I’m not willing to pay a great deal of money on a ticket.

Q: How have you seen the game change over the years?

A: It’s safer to play, but I think that takes some fun out of the game. I don’t agree with the rules for tackling the wrong way. They fine the player, and sometimes for thousands of dollars. That’s how the game is played. Who doesn’t like a good dog pile?

Q: What else should I know about football?

A: It’s a fun sport. It brings families together. There is excitement and tension in watching your team play and cheer them on. Also some trivia for you. The franchise was established in 1932. Doug Williams was the first black quarterback to win the Super Bowl for the Washington Redskins on January 31, 1988. In 1992 the Redskins won the Super Bowl again. If you need any more help, just call me.

I certainly will!

My beautiful daughter with her husband, Curtis.

Redskins

What would you do to win tickets to see your favorite team in action?

Leave a Reply

