3 Questions Wednesday with Tiffany Amber Stockton

Tiff_headshot_lowresToday we welcome author Tiffany Amber Stockton, to 3 Questions Wednesday!

Hi, Tiffany! So glad you stopped by. First question.

Which author would you never get tired of, and why?

Tiffany: Tracie Peterson, Francine Rivers, or Tamera Alexander. I’m sorry. I couldn’t narrow it down to just one. 🙂 These three ladies do a phenomenal job of crafting engaging characters blended with a compelling storyline, and they weave in the growth along with historical details in such a way that has you learning history as well as the Bible without it being shoved it in your face. It’s a smooth integration leaving you with an enjoyable, uplifting, and informative story every time.

Great historical authors, for sure. They also write a good villain.

Who is your favorite fictional villain?

Tiffany: Are you asking about a villain I’ve created, or one in a book I’ve read? If it’s a villain in one of my books, that would have to be Aaron Cavanaugh in my Wyoming Paintbrush series. My agent is shopping the series with several publishers, and we should hear news of a contract before the end of this year. Aaron isn’t exactly a villain in terms of an intention to harm solely for his own gain. I would probably consider him more of an antagonist present in all three books of the series, one who interferes with the key characters in the stories but also one who finds his own redemption in the end.

Now, a villain in a book I’ve read? That would be a lot harder. It isn’t often I read stories with a true villain as opposed to an antagonist, but the “nod” would have to go to Somerled MacDonald of Grace in Thine Eyes by Liz Curtis Higgs. Although I absolutely hated the ending and what happened to him, that’s a sign of a well-crafted villain. When a reader doesn’t want harm to come to the villain, that character is both compelling and multi-dimensional. Liz definitely achieves both in this book.

Many people enjoy a “redeemed” villain. 🙂 Last question.

What project are you currently working on?

Tiffany: As mentioned above, I have the Wyoming Paintbrush series, but I also have a historical series based on Chincoteague Island in Virginia, home to the famous Chincoteague ponies brought to fictional life by Marguerite Henry with Misty of Chincoteague. That series is my focus right now, as I have an editor interested in publishing it. Guess I’d better finish up with these blog appearances and promotions and get back to work on my writing. *grins*

Thank you so much, Jennifer, for allowing me to visit here on your blog. For those reading this, if you answer either one of the following two questions, you’ll be entered into a drawing for the chance at a free autographed copy of one of my books.
1. Have you ever experienced a painful event from your past that has prevented you from moving forward until you offered forgiveness? What were you able to do after you forgave that you weren’t able to do before?
2. Do you have a friend who is the complete opposite of you yet for some reason the friendship you have works in spite of you both being so different? Why do you think this is?

Leave your answers in the comments below, and feel free to also comment on any part of the interview above. Appreciate you stopping by!

Thanks, Tiffany, for being our guest. Good, thought-provoking questions for our readers also.

A Grand Design

A Grand Design_frontcoverWhen Alyssa Denham, a single career woman, wins a romantic getaway for two on Mackinac Island, she gives her carefree best friend a call. Together, they take a vacation and answer a request from Alyssa’s grandmother to help her piece together a heirloom quilt with blocks created by longtime friends. Their quest gains them entrance into the homes of many longtime residents of the island. As the quilt’s story takes shape, Alyssa gains amazing insight into her grandmother’s life while being romanced by Scott Whitman, an island resident in charge of hotel transportation. But  memories of her past keep Alyssa from letting go. The quest takes a surprising turn when a man from Alyssa Denham’s past–the reason she hadn’t returned to the island in fifteen years–interrupts the relaxing getaway for her and her best friend, Libby. In the end, the quilt will bring healing to more than just a fractured quilting group. It will bring restoration to the hearts of Alyssa and her grandmother too.

Tiffany Amber Stockton has been crafting and embellishing stories since childhood. Today, she is an award-winning, best-selling author & speaker who has partnered with Nerium International in the whole-body anti-aging industry. She lives with her husband and fellow author, Stuart Vaughn Stockton, in Colorado. They have a daughter and a son, a retriever mix named Roxie and a cattle dog named Timber. She has sold 19 books so far and is represented by Tamela Hancock Murray of the Steve Laube Agency. Three of her novels have won annual reader’s choice awards, and in 2009, she was voted #1 favorite new author for Barbour’s Heartsong Presents book club. Read more about her at her website: www.amberstockton.com.

6 thoughts on “3 Questions Wednesday with Tiffany Amber Stockton

  1. Great interview! I’ve gotten to know Tiff quite well since she has worked on my website. I love books about quilts since I used to own a quilt shop, so it would be thrilling to win A Grand Design.

    I will answer Question 1. I had a published author who had promised to include me in a collection suddenly back out and terminate my first chance at getting published. I was crushed and so disappointed that I held a grudge for several years. When I finally published, I discovered we were published by the same publisher. I learned more about her and her personal circumstances. I was ashamed of myself. I have forgiven her and even publicized her books on my FB pages. Now, we are in collections together. I am so happy about that.

    Those are great questions, Tiff. I may pick up on your idea for the blogs I’m interviewed on.

    Bless you!
    Bonnie

    • Bonnie, thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. I can relate to forgiving fellow authors and writers. Been down that road myself, and it colored my enjoyment of conferences and meetings as a result. Took me a few years of not attending anything and maintaining a low profile before I could move past the hurts and break free. Living and walking in that freedom is SO much better!

  2. I enjoyed today’s post. Made me think.. I had to forgive a family member before we could move on. It really was such an insignificant thing.. So glad we are friends now 🙂

    • DK, isn’t it funny how easily we can let little, insignificant things cloud our judgment and prevent us from moving on after we’ve been hurt? Glad you were able to forgive that family member and become friends. Sometimes, forgiveness happens, but the relationship is lost. Thanks for dropping by!

  3. I had to forgive my mom for a nasty thing she said at my wedding. It made her look bad though in the eyes of my parents friends. She is not a nice woman and is bitter and unhappy. I feel sorry for her that she insists on being this way. But not forgiving her was hurting me by spending so much effort being upset about it, and my mom does not know I know what she said.

    • Karen, so often refusing to forgive only hurts us, and no one else. It nags at us and eats us up inside. We try to shut it out, but it keeps coming back. When we finally forgive and move on, we’re free from the binds that held us. So glad you were able to move past that hurt and heal as well as forgive. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

