A Healthy New Year

By Jennifer Hallmark

As we move forward into our third year as a blog, I’d like to introduce the Writing Prompts Crew. Click the link to go to each Crew members bio: Jennifer Hallmark, Betty Thomason OwensTammy Trail, Allie Owens Crockett, Betty Boyd, Anne Garboczi Evans, Holly Michael, and Cari Schaeffer. Enjoy the month of January as we discuss a healthy New Year and as always, happy writing!

new-years-resolutionHealthy in 2015.

An obtainable goal?

I hope so.

The past few years, my main health focus has been on getting asthma and digestive issues under control. Now that these problems are better, January will be the beginning of a “getting healthier all around” emphasis in my life. But I realize I’ve often made half-hearted resolutions only to fail.

Miserably.

So I’d like this year to be different. First, I will look at every aspect of my health: physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual. Second, my focus will be for one month at a time. At the end of January, I’ll look at what works and what doesn’t and make adjustments for February. Taking one month at a time, I won’t feel so overwhelmed and give up. Here are my thoughts on the different aspects of my health. Each person will need to adjust according to their specific needs.

Physical (Exercise and eating)

In the past, I’ve noticed if I don’t exercise early in the morning, I don’t exercise at all. I work at home, so this is doable. On Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, I’ll exercise to my low-impact aerobic DVD, a thirty minute workout. On Tuesday and Thursday, I’ll ride twenty minutes on my exercise bike. My weekends tend to be busy, so I’ll take that time off as my reward. 🙂

good food

As far as eating goes, I’ll cut back on sugar. This is always a weakness of mine, especially since I’ve developed a dairy allergy and can’t tolerate fried foods. Sugar is my comfort food. I’ll follow a basic healthy eating plan of healthy meats, fruits, and vegetables.

Mental

As a recovering perfectionist, I tend to be too driven and don’t give myself enough leeway. This leads to stress and hurts my mental health. If I don’t watch myself, I’ll work every moment I’m not doing something else. I’ve just completed a forty-day sabbatical from writing that was necessary for me to deal with health issues. I don’t want to overwork again, so I’m going to try and create a schedule for a four-day work week. I’ll design my plan, working around my husband’s schedule and the days I babysit the grandchildren.

Emotional

This is a tough one. Exercise and healthy eating are a must for good emotional health. So is a less stressful schedule. How else can I promote a more positive lifestyle?

(1) Read one “feel good” book or watch a movie of the same once a week.

(2) Set up the 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle my brother gave me and work on it during stressful times.

(3) Find an accountability friend to talk to once a week and bring to light any emotional struggles.

(4) Get out of the house more. As a “homebody” I tend to stay at home. I need to get outside, even if it’s just for a short walk or drive to the local dollar store.

Spiritual

bibleThis area of my life must be maintained or the others won’t work. Here are a few things I can do to stay spiritually healthy.

(1) Daily devotional time in the morning, right before exercises.

(2) Listen to music and reflect. Journal any thoughts and feelings while listening for that still, small voice.

(3) Fellowship with other Christians, online and in person. 🙂

(4) Be a blessing to others.

(5) Enjoy nature.

This is my plan for the month of January. After writing it down, it seems like a lot. We will see. At the end of the month, I’ll be back with a special post to let you know what I’ve learned, what worked, and what didn’t.

See you then!

Complete the prompt below for an extra entry in our quarterly drawings! Submit your completed writing prompt via Comments”

Writing Prompt: Maggie pushed open the door of the fitness center and stepped inside. Gee, it was an awful heavy door. Such a long walk from the parking lot also. She stared around the room at the…

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Healthy New Year

Leave a Reply

