Under the Silk Hibiscus by Alice J. Wisler

???????????????????????????????

 

 

Today, we welcome Alice J. Wisler on our blog to showcase her latest release, Under the Silk Hibiscus.

 

Hi Alice! Have you always wanted to be an author? If not, what made you decide to write, and how long have you been at it?

Alice: Yes, from the time I was six in red tights and a plaid skirt riding the train to school in Kyoto, Japan, I knew I wanted to be an author. I wrote little stapled stories and gave them to my first grade teacher, Miss Terwilliger.

I love that! Japan has definitely shaped your stories.Do you write every day? What does your typical writing day look like?

Alice: I like to write every day because I am happiest when I do. When I’m disciplined, I write for about three hours. When I’m finishing up a novel, I can write for fifteen hours.

That’s a marathon. What project are you currently working on?

Alice: A memoir! And it’s hard work being authentic and honest.

I can’t even imagine. Speaking of projects, what’s your favorite marketing strategy?

Alice: Hmmmm . . . . .   I’m not sure I have one. I’d like to be on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon. I think that would be a great strategy but so far, he hasn’t invited me.

🙂 You made me smile. Have you ever had a funny experience connected with being an author?

Alice: Yes, one reader wanted to date my character Jonas in How Sweet It Is. She emailed to tell me her boyfriend troubles and then asked if Jonas was available. She thought he was super sweet and kind. I had to let her know that Jonas only exists on the pages of my novel.

I loved How Sweet It Is and Jonas too. Thanks for dropping by, Alice! Leave a comment for a chance to win a Kindle version of Under the Silk Hibiscus.

 

Under the Silk Hibiscus

UnderTheSilkHibiscusCoverDuring World War Two Nathan and his family are sent to Heart Mountain, an internment camp in Wyoming for Japanese-Americans. Nathan’s one desire is to protect the family’s gold pocket watch, a family heirloom brought over from Japan. He fails; the watch is stolen. Struggling to make sense of his life in a bleak camp as the only responsible man of the household, Nathan discovers truths about his family, God, and the girl he loves.

 

Alice has authored four contemporary novels published by Bethany House:  Rain Song (Christy Finalist), How Sweet It Is (Christy Finalist), Hatteras Girl and A Wedding Invitation, and Still Life in Shadows by River North/Moody. Her newest novel, Under the Silk Hibiscus (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas) is her first historical romance.

Since the death of her four-year-old son, Alice teaches grief-writing workshops and her devotional, Getting out of Bed in the Morning:  Reflections of Comfort in Heartache (Leafwood), covers the many losses we face and how God sustains us through each one.  In 2012, Alice and her husband started a business, Carved By Heart, where they carve memorial plaques/remembrances, house number signs, bird feeders, rustic clocks, and other home décor.

Links:

Amazon Author Page:  http://www.amazon.com/Alice-J.-Wisler/e/B001J6GVNE/

Website:  http://www.alicewisler.com

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Alice-J-Wisler/333751835453

Alice’s Patchwork Quilt Blog:  http://www.alicewisler.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Under the Silk Hibiscus by Alice J. Wisler

Leave a Reply

