Welcome New Crew Member, Holly Michael

104 (2)

Today we introduce new crew member, Holly Michael!

 

(1)  Welcome to the Writing Prompts Crew. Tell us a little about yourself.

Holly: I’m the wife of an Anglican Bishop and mom to three great kids: Jake (a type one diabetic NFL player) Betsy, (a sweetie-pie in grad school), and Nick (a college football player for the Ragin Cajuns.). I’m a total hybrid as a writer. (I also drive a hybrid car!) I write fiction and nonfiction, and am traditionally published as well as indie published. My first novel, Crooked Lines, was released in July 2014. I plan to have five more books released by next year, some with traditional publishers and others indie-published.

 (2)  How did you become interested in being a writer?

Holly: I officially became a writer on the day I quit writing. Nearly fifteen years ago, after receiving yet another rejection letter, I shut off my computer and went for a walk. I explained to God that I wasn’t wasting any more time writing unless He gave me a clear sign to continue. Coming home, I found a blinking answering machine. At the beep, an editor for Guideposts for Teens magazine said she wanted to publish my essay. That day, I dedicated my writing to God. The next day, I got a check in the mail from a parenting magazine and a copy of my first published essay. Doors to the published world began to open and I’ve been amazed at the writing opportunities that have come my way since.

(3)  Can you tell us three unique things about you that we may not know?
Holly: 1. I have a phone phobia. Absolutely shudder at the thought of talking on the phone, but in person, I can talk your head off.
2. I  was born and raised on a dairy farm in Wisconsin, #7 out of 10 children. My husband was born and raised in India, #7 out of 8 children.
3. I’ve traveled to most of all of the United States, except for Oregon, Idaho, Nevada and Utah. Oh, and Hawaii and Alaska.

 

Crooked3 (1)On the shores of Lake Michigan, Rebecca Meyer seeks escape. Guilt-ridden over her little sister’s death, she sets her heart on India, a symbol of peace.

Across the ocean in South India, Sagai Raj leaves his tranquil hill station home and impoverished family to answer a higher calling. Pushing through diverse cultural and religious milieus, he labors toward his goals, while wrong turns and bad choices block Rebecca from hers.

Traveling similar paths and bridged across oceans through a priest, the two desire peace and their divine destiny. But vows and blind obedience at all costs must be weighed…and buried memories, unearthed.

Crooked Lines, a beautifully crafted debut novel, threads the lives of two determined souls from different continents and cultures. Compelling characters struggle with spirituality through despair and deceptions in search of truth.

Leave a Reply

