What the Arnold Palmer?

apliteIn honor of the season (PGA tournament season, that is), I would like to ramble on about someone who very well may be considered a pioneer in the world of sports and a revolutionary in his own right. Do you know who Arnold Palmer is? If you’re a golfer, you certainly do. I know his face, but that’s only because it’s on the label of a beverage I enjoy. You know, that ever-so-refreshing drink that’s part sweet tea and part lemonade? I’ve heard some varying opinions on the tea to lemonade ratio. Some like it 80/20, and still others insist on 50/50. I like it the way it comes in the can.

Ok- so as I was no more than a blip on the screen in 1964, I have learned by way of the Interweb, it was a good year. The Beatles came on the scene, great train robbers were sentenced for a collective total of 307 years and Arnold Palmer won the 28th Golf Masters Championship. From his early days, Arnold came to win and claimed the victory in his rookie season at the Canadian Open. He started out tagging along behind his father; a humble greenskeeper, and grew into a full-grown legend, winning 92 tournaments during the entirety of his career. History nicknamed “The King” for good reason. Apparently, Palmer is responsible for gaining golf much attention as the televised sport that it is today.

Don’t shoot me, but I’m not much of a golf fan. Growing-up very close to Valhalla Golf Club in Kentucky, I can tell you that I dislike PGA traffic even more. Luckily, for superficial snobs of my generation, ole Arnie was supposedly ‘easy on the eyes’ and possessed a charisma that only further set him apart from his contemporaries. I guess it was only fitting that he be inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame (1974). I mean, at age 84, he is still known for being one of the greatest golfers in history and, we’ve established this, but he does have a drink named after him. (Tiger Woods doesn’t have his own drink.) Oh, I almost forgot, he was buddies with Mr. Rogers! How neat is that? +10 awesome-sauce points from this 90’s kiddo! Yes, I’m sorry. Tiger, who?

Three of my favorite Arnold Palmer quotes that double as great advice for writers —
(1) “The most rewarding things you do in life are often the ones that look like they cannot be done.”
(2) “The more I practice the luckier I get.”
(3) “You must play boldly to win.”

Thanks, Arnie!

❤ AOC

MySignature

4 thoughts on “What the Arnold Palmer?

  1. Pingback: Sweet Tea + Lemonade + Golf | Once Upon A Page

  2. Lately it is the drink I’ve been reaching for usually. It does something for me that soda just can’t do. However, nothing can ever replace a root beer float for me when my wife and I are on the couch watching a mystery movie.

Leave a Reply

