A Warrior’s Vow by Christina Rich

IMG_1232The Writing Prompts Blog welcomes one of our own, Christina Rich. Her second book, The Warrior’s Vow, released today.

Christina, there are a few things we’d like to ask you…

Have you always wanted to be an author?

Christina: You know, I’m not sure. I’ve always loved reading and there were times when I loved to make up stories, write poetry, and lyrics to songs. I wrote throughout high school, too, but it wasn’t until after I had my fourth child that I really started to yearn to write. If not, what made you decide to write, and how long have you been at it? I was about twenty-five and had just finished reading a story and the characters continued their lives in my head. Soon I was creating happily-ever-afters for the supporting characters. It wasn’t until 2006 that I realized that I just might have a chance at this writing thing.

What’s your favorite method for keeping a story’s middle from sagging?

Christina: Oh, Lord! Really? If I knew the answer to that question I’d be a millionaire. Seriously, though you have to keep moving the story forward, keep offering your reader new bits of information, and of course, adding action to the plot helps. You know, like a little kidnapping or a blown tire?

Do you write every day?  

Christina: Ay, ay, ay. I try to write every day. It’s a good habit, but some days it just doesn’t seem to work. What does your typical writing day look like? A typical writing day, when I’m in the groove… I try to write for thirty minutes, move around, and then come back for another thirty. Sometimes I find myself writing an hour straight.

Do you like to listen to music when you write?

Christina: I do. I have various Pandora stations depending on which genre I’m writing. Sometimes I listen to traditional Hebrew music, sometimes ocean waves, but mostly I listen to one of my Christian stations.

Have you ever had a funny experience connected with being an author?

Christina: Okay, so I haven’t been an author that long. This past March, when my debut, The Guardian’s Promise came out, I was invited to do a book signing. Well, go figure I had nothing to wear, so I ran to the store, found a great top on the clearance rack, and changed my shirt in the parking lot of the place where I was to sign books. No, I didn’t leave the tags on, but I did discover when I went home that my lovely shirt was completely see-through in the back! I was mortified. To think a Christian author at a Christian store wearing something so absolutely revealing, not to mention all my flub, but we won’t mention that. I’ve definitely learned to check out my clothing a little closer. 😉

Thanks, Christina, for dropping by! To order your copy of The Warrior’s Vow:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

warrior vow

 

He Was Hers to Command 

Swept away from her home and into the desert, Abigail is as much a prisoner as she is a princess. A ruthlessly ambitious captain of the palace guard intends to force her into marriage and rule Judah through her. Yet the badly beaten soldier Abigail rescues offers another choice—if she dares trust him. 

She is royalty, yet Jesse is surprised by the gentle compassion Abigail shows him as he heals. In return, he will help her escape to Jerusalem, protecting her life with his own. But Abigail’s rank and Jesse’s deadly past makes any future impossible, unless forgiveness forged by love can triumph over all.

 
Born and raised in Kansas, where she currently lives with her husband and children, Christina loves to read stories with happily ever afters, research, take photos, knit scarves, dig into her ancestry, fish, visit the ocean, write stories with happily ever afters and talk about her family and Jesus. Her debut novel,The Guardian’s Promise, released from Love Inspired March 2014. Her second novel, The Warrior’s Vow released July 1, 2014.

3 thoughts on “A Warrior’s Vow by Christina Rich

  1. Congrats on the Second Book! The whole thing must seem more real, now. So glad we met in Pittsburg, and I hope to see you there (or somewhere else) again. Love your wardrobe malfunction story. Just shows that authors are really just regular people after all!

Leave a Reply

