April 27, 2011 – A Different Perspective

by Ginger SolomonGinger pic

I am so late with this post. I apologize to our faithful readers.

I live a few counties away from Jennifer. You can read her account of the storm here, if you haven’t already.

I was thankful for many things on April 27, 2011 that I tend to take for granted. I homeschool, so all of my children were home with me. Our neighbors are nice and shared their generator with us. Our grill runs on natural gas, and those lines were unaffected by the storm. I’m also thankful my husband made it home safely. He left work DURING the storm.

I have, somewhere (I couldn’t find it), a picture of one of the EF-5s going by within a mile of my house. Our neighbor did a video on YouTube (but, of course, I couldn’t find that either). After the storm had cleared, my husband took a short drive to see the damage. The cinder block buildings that housed the restrooms and offices of the pool where we belonged were leveled, just gone. The truck the owner left in the parking lot was upside down on the edge of the pool. Later, the owner said they found fish in the pool. The three houses across the street were also flattened. I have no idea if the people survived or not. They did not rebuild. In the same area, concrete (not wood) telephone/electric poles were snapped in half. The steel beams of the relay station (electricity) were twisted like you would do to a twist-tie around a loaf of bread. We saw a trampoline from some unknown place stuck on a group of trees.

I don’t think I was nearly as scared as I should have been during the storm. Here is a video that I found taken about two miles east of my house.

We were without power for three or four days, I don’t remember exactly. During that time, we used a cast-iron griddle on the grill and made pancakes, bacon, eggs, hamburgers, etc. We put frozen pizza on the grill; it didn’t turn out too bad. But, of course, we had a little experience because several years earlier when we lived in Virginia, a bad storm came through with straight-line winds, and we lost power for several days, and did the same thing.

Since the tornadoes, we have bought a generator of our own, and installed a well. We were lucky to have had running water because the tower that supplied our water was not without power, but we didn’t want to take that chance for the future.

If you are in an area that experiences tornadoes, or hurricanes, or some other natural disaster, what have you done to prepare your home and family?

Blessings!

2 thoughts on “April 27, 2011 – A Different Perspective

  1. Thanks for sharing this great story Ginger. The video was awesome as well. Unbelievable natural disasters are happening so quickly. We were hit with Hurricane Sandy 1 1/2 years ago and thousands of individuals are still in bad shape all over New Jersey and New York. It is time for us to turn from our sinful ways and return back to God for help, direction and strength. Have a blessed day.

    • I agree. Without God this country, and the world, will continue to decline and see increased “natural” disasters. I praise Him that we were spared that day, though I am grieved for the families who lost loved ones and friends.

Leave a Reply

