Exercise – the Bane of my Existence

Ginger picby Ginger Solomon

Exercise is the bane of my existence. I hate it with a passion because I want to see results of the things I do and exercise seems to take forever to prove itself worthy.

Add to that the fact that I’ve never been athletic. I just didn’t do sports. Like the majority of kids of my generation, most of my time was spent outside, running and playing, but it was all for fun. I guess I was fit, for a child/preteen. Once I hit my teen years, more and more of my time was spent indoors — at school, doing homework, or reading.

Now, however, I am under doctor’s orders to get fit and trim. Sure. Right. Yeah, let’s do this thing. Can’t you just here my enthusiasm? (said so sarcastically even through the written word you can’t miss it)

With gyms popping up all over the map, I could hit one of those — for a price. Well, to be honest, I have access to a well-stocked gym for free, but it’s a twenty-minute drive one-way for a twenty-minute work-out. Two-thirds of my time would be spent on the road. Thanks, but no thanks. I really do have better ways to spend that extra forty minutes.

So what’s a girl(or guy) to do? High-impact exercises are out. Carrying seven babies (all over 9 lbs) took care of that for me. To be honest, I don’t know exactly what will work for me. I do know I have to do something.

Here are some things I plan to try at least one day a week (I need the variety or I get bored):

  • pilates
  • elliptical (vs the treadmill)
  • walking when it’s nice outside (2 miles for now, more as my endurance increases)
  • yoga (keep in mind Betty’s warning); I found some useful Christian yoga videos on Youtube.
  • muscle toning
  • bicycling

To be honest, it seems like a simple, short list, and it is. I need simple. My life is already complicated in many areas and I don’t need to think too much about exercising or it will never get done.

What do you do to stay fit and trim or what are you trying to do to make a better you?

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

