One Choice by Ginger Solomon

Today, we want to take a moment and talk with Ginger Solomon, one of our own Writing Prompts Crew. Her debut book, One Choice, released today.Ginger pic

Congratulations! You’ve written a book and seen it to publication. What are three things you’ve learned from this experience?

Ginger:A) Never assume that the way you read a book is how someone else reads it.

B) Your intention isn’t necessarily obvious in the text. There were several times my characters were praying, but it came out in a flippant sort of way. I had to rewrite those areas so the reader would know it was a true prayer, not just an oath. Make sure your meaning is clear.

C) I’m a control-freak. Yep, I said it. I want to know each step of the process and what to expect. I don’t like being left in the dark.

What is your favorite sentence or paragraph in the book?

Ginger: First I have to give you a little information. We are in Cahri’s point-of-view and she’s in a room with forty-nine other women who are talking. I’m not sure it’s my favorite, but I couldn’t find the one I was looking for.  I think writers, in general, feel this way in a room full of strangers. I certainly do.

The noise grew louder and more overwhelming even though she had moved to the corner farthest away. She glanced from person to person. Their mouths moved, but she couldn’t make out any of the conversations. Once in a while, a lone voice would be louder than the others, struggling to be heard. It was a nightmare. One from which she couldn’t awaken.

Writers sit for extended periods of time. What do you do to combat fatigue?

Ginger: Hah. I would LIKE to be able to sit for extended periods of time, but because I homeschool, I am never alone long enough. There’s always something that needs my attention, which prompts me to get out of my chair at least once (more often is the norm) every one or two hours.

How do you personally handle “writer’s block?”

Ginger: I think writer’s block is a way for our characters to tell us we are going in the wrong direction with a story. I’m currently experiencing it with a WIP. The problem is I don’t know which way the story needs to go — yet. To combat that particular issue, I have set it aside in favor of a different manuscript, which I had previously been unsure about. J It helps to have several pots on the stove at once — if you’ll forgive the analogy.

What fun fact would you like your readers to know about you?

Ginger: Oh. Fun fact. Okay. I don’t like to be around children for the most part. I never have. I babysat as a young teen, but would have preferred cutting grass or chopping wood. Amazed or amused? I always say God has a sense of humor because I wanted two children and my husband wanted five; God added them together and gave us seven.

Thank you, Ginger. Don’t miss her new release, One Choice, available now.OneChoice 200x300

Cahri Michaels is American by birth, but Belikarian by choice. Being selected to participate in the Bridal March forces her to give up the independent life she’s created for herself. She’s not ready to be anyone’s wife, much less to a man she doesn’t know.

Prince Josiah Vallis despises the centuries old tradition—the Bridal March—that is forcing him to choose a wife from fifty women. Why does it matter that he’s twenty-five and still single?

When Cahri and Josiah meet, sparks fly. Will it ignite a godly love that can see them through or will they be burned, never to be the same?

Ginger Solomon is a Christian, a wife, a mother to seven, and a writer — in that order (mostly). When not homeschooling her youngest five, doing laundry or fixing dinner, she writes or reads romance of any genre, some sci-fi/fantasy, and some suspense. She’s a member of American Christian Fiction Writers, president of her local writing group, and writes regularly for three blogs. In addition to all that, she loves animals, horses especially, likes to do needlework (knitting, crocheting, and sometimes cross-stitch), and loves to sing in the choir at church.

A Bed of Roses…Thorns Included

Writing Prompts & Thoughts & Ideas…Oh My!

Inspy Romance Blog

Facebook Author Page

Twitter @GingerS219

Pinterest

Purchase One Choice here…

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/one-choice-ginger-solomon/1118477217?ean=2940148323426

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/One-Choice-Ginger-Solomon-ebook/dp/B00I85RZDY/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1391520581&sr=1-4&keywords=one+choice

Astraea Press: http://www.astraeapress.com/#!/~/product/category=662245&id=33441008

 

2 thoughts on “One Choice by Ginger Solomon

Leave a Reply

