Being Practical and Health

044

Ginger here.

I’ve been tossing around ideas for several weeks. There are so many different opinions about what healthy eating is. No matter what website you visit, or what doctor you see, most of them will give you at least some conflicting information. You have to decide what works for you and your family. Some families have specific obstacles to overcome (gluten intolerance, type 2 diabetes, lactose intolerance, etc.). We don’t have diseases or allergies to overcome, but we have instituted a few things that I feel help us to be healthier.

  • We limit sugar-laden drinks to special occasions. This list includes flavored drinks (Koolaide, etc), soda, fruit juice, and syrupy-sweet tea.
  • Cereal is reserved for weekends. That is also about the only time my kids have milk. Both my husband and I experience increased sinus drainage (ewww, I know) if we consume too much milk and noticed it affecting our children as well.
  • We raise a steer a year. 🙂 We know what he gets fed, and we always get one that has had no hormones or other yucky 098stuff injected.
  • We raise our own chickens. We don’t eat them. I tried slaughtering them and found it utterly distasteful, so now they are solely for egg-production. I wish I had a picture of a store-bought egg versus a farm-raised, free-range one, but I don’t. I’ve heard they are significantly different in color.
  • We have a big garden every year – tomatoes (I won’t eat store-bought), cucumbers, peppers, onions, corn, watermelon, cantaloupe, broccoli, cabbage, sweet peas, green beans, and probably some other stuff I’m forgetting.
  • In addition to the garden we have planted around our house numerous fruit trees, berries (blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, and strawberries), and grapevines.

Now I know you might not be able to have all of this where you live and I know healthy eating can be expensive. However, there are a few things you can do. Plant a tomato or other vegetable in a pot or two or three and put it on a back porch, balcony, or even close to an east-facing window. I know there are places that will raise and sell a steer to you — get together with friends and purchase one. You could also buy produce from a reputable farmer or farmer’s market.

Writing Prompt: Margaret drove past the farmer’s market. Few people were parked in the lot even though it was Saturday afternoon. On an impulse, she turned around and went back. When she arrived the lot was empty and an elderly gentleman was tidying the containers of fruits and vegetables. She picked up a …

Blessings on you and yours as you strive to be healthier in 2014!

3 thoughts on “Being Practical and Health

  1. My boss raises a few cows every year. She auctions off one or two at the end of the year & has the last one slaughtered for their family. She also got chickens this past year, slaughtering some and keeping many for eggs. She shared the eggs with my family – they were mostly slightly smaller than the large eggs I buy at the store, and usually brownish. One of them was slightly green-shelled. It was interesting.

    One of the things I am excited about with the house we just bought it having my husband build me a few plantboxes outside this summer so I can grow a small veggie garden.

  2. The size and color of the eggs depends on the breed of chicken.

    Good luck with the veggie’s this summer.

    Thanks for commenting.

  3. Pingback: It’s a Wrap | Writing Prompts &Thoughts & Ideas...Oh My!

Leave a Reply

