Four Ways to Smoothly Transition from 2013 to 2014

HNY-funky

By Jennifer Hallmark

Transition time again. Here we stand at the end of December awaiting the New Year. I approach every New Year from a practical point of view and I’d like to share this with you…

(1)First, I buy a new calendar. A calendar puts me in the right frame of mind. A new year will soon be here, a clean slate for my hopes and dreams.mxor02

(2) Next, I put away Christmas. The day after Christmas I usually drag all my totes from the attic and fill them with my decorations until next Christmas rolls around. If possible, I like to have it done before New Year’s Day. I usually do a little re-arranging as I put my usual knick knacks back on the shelves and add one new item. This fresh look again reminds me of that clean slate.

(3) Now, its time for the deeper stuff. I forgive and let go. In a year’s time, people irritate me and I can carry around my own guilt, shame, or condemnation over 365 days of life. December is a good time to bring these people to mind and forgive them as Christ forgave me. It’s time for me to let go of my failures, shortcomings, and weaknesses, giving grace to myself and others.

(4) Lastly, I pray for a 2014 focus. Each December I ask God to help me focus on what He has in store for the next year. I keep my ears open for a theme, something simple like restoration, trust or healing. This encourages me and gives me a specific topic to study, prayer over, and fall back on during the New Year.

What specific ways do you transition into a New Year? Leave a comment and be entered in our last gift card drawing of 2013…

Leave a Reply

