Heidi Glick

0

Today we welcome Heidi Glick, inspirational suspense writer,to 3 Questions Wednesday.

(1) Do you watch reality television? Why or why not?

Heidi: I watched some of The Biggest Loser this year. I normally don’t watch the show, but a guy from my alma mater was on the show, so I had to watch. Other than that, I watch Duck Dynasty pretty regularly. I don’t watch a lot of reality TV because it seems like people are always fighting on the shows and besides that, so much of it is scripted. I like Duck Dynasty because the Robertsons share their faith with their fans, and Uncle Si is pretty funny.

(2) What are your thoughts on e-publishing?
Heidi:When I started out as a technical editor years ago, I edited hard copy exclusively. Years later, I learned to edit e-copy. Now, I edit e-copy exclusively. In fact, I wrote an article for Intercom on the subject.

Not only do I edit online at work, but I am taking classes toward my Master’s degree online from an out-of-state university. The classes I take are also offered in a traditional brick and mortar setting, but I can take them online, usually at my own pace. Without this flexibility, it would be harder for me to go back to school while working full-time because the programs in my area would not fit my schedule.

I read most books in electronic format but not all. I do take advantage of library books offered by the Ohio e-book project. I like the fact that the book disappears on my e-reader device, and I don’t have to return the book to the library. This also saves me time.

While I don’t mind e-books, I know that some are reluctant to embrace them. For this reason, I am glad that my publisher is offering my debut novel in e-book and hard copy formats.

There are some who fear that e-books will kill books and that e-books are the equivalent of book burning in Fahrenheit 451. Instead, perhaps e-books might encourage more reading. E-books are extremely portable. And while hard copies are also portable, when I go on vacation, I’m not going to take 10 hard copies with me, but I can take several e-books on an e-reader.

Also, e-books are instantly available. I tend to buy more e-books than hard copies because the e-books are available immediately. If I want a book late at night when the store is closed, I can instantly download it.

Rather than fighting the changes in the publishing industry as a result of e-copy, writers and publishers should seek to embrace them and use them to their advantage.

(3) Which do you prefer? Facebook or Twitter?

Heidi: I have accounts for both. I tend to use Facebook more often because I’m a visual person.

dog tThank you, Heidi, for joining us on 3 Questions Wednesday! Leave a comment and be entered to win her debut suspense novel, Dog tags, (winner’s choice, autographed paperback [U.S. residents only] or ebook copy).

 

Heidi Glick has a B.A. in biology, a minor in Bible from Cedarville University, and a passion for writing Christian fiction. Additionally, she is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and has written two articles for Intercom. Heidi’s debut suspense novel, Dog Tags, was released in June 2013. When not working, Heidi spends time with her husband, son, and two dogs, Cocoa and Sparky. Heidi attends Grace Chapel in Mason, Ohio.