Janalyn Voigt

Author-and-Speaker-Janalyn-Voigt_Larger

Today we welcome Janalyn Voigt, author and literary judge , to 3 Questions Wednesday.

(1) Do you watch reality television? Why or why not?

Janalyn: I almost never watch television, period. I lived for several years in the Australian outback where we had no television. Life moved in to fill the void so completely I had to wonder how I’d found time for television before. After returning to the States, I made a conscious decision never to take up a steady diet of television again. Life is the richer for my having held to that choice.

I’m not anti-television by any means, and on the rare occasion I’ll watch something my husband has on. I have found a show featuring a survival expert escaping from the wilderness interesting, and that show might be considered a form of reality television.

(2) What are your thoughts on e-publishing?

Janalyn: The publishing world as a whole is absorbing the impact of what is known as a disruptive technology. The advent of digital photography is an example of how a new technology can completely change the way we do things. Companies already in existence will either allow themselves to become obsolete or adapt to survive. Opportunities flourish during times of change, especially for early adopters. We saw that in the successes of e-book millionaires like Amanda Hocking, who rose to fame by selling over a million copies of her e-books at the 99-cent price point.

As a writer, I’m grateful for the opportunities e-publishing affords. It’s never been easier for a writer to move into print. However, that is also a problem as we flood the market with new releases. It’s important to stand out through the quality of your writing, and that usually means hiring an editor.

As a reader, I’d rather curl up with a print book than a backlit screen. As a literary judge and book reviewer, I read almost every night. Spending long hours on the computer each day, means that I do what I can to protect my vision. Print books are also easier to read at the same time as another family member, an important consideration in a household of readers.

(3) Which do you prefer? Facebook or Twitter?

Janalyn: I like them differently.
I find Twitter to be a powerful medium that has driven traffic to my website and I believe, although I can’t completely track them, book sales. Twitter has been called Facebook Light, because of its short updates and the relative ease with which you can maintain a presence there.

My Facebook page has morphed into something of a mini-forum for writers. Since I enjoy talking shop and writers are one of my audiences, it works out well. I’m also reclaiming my page a little to accommodate my novel readers. Readers and writers usually don’t mind rubbing shoulders.
Thanks for hosting me today. Your questions were a lot of fun to answer. jv 2

Thank you, Janalyn, for joining us on 3 Questions Wednesday! Make sure to leave a comment to be entered in a drawing for three kindle or nook copies of DawnSinger.

jvACFW Book Club Pick!
DawnSinger, Tales of Faeraven #1, an epic fantasy adventure from Harbourlight (Pelican Book Group) by Janalyn Voigt ~ escape into worlds of beauty and danger

Sometimes victory comes only through surrender.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZsVFrhb5vCo
Purchase DawnSinger.

As a thank-you to readers, I maintain separate sites for fans of fantasy, historical fiction, and romantic suspense. Click my name to explore them: Janalyn Voigt

Janalyn Voigt’s unique blend of adventure, romance, suspense, and fantasy creates worlds of beauty and danger for readers. Beginning with DawnSinger, her epic fantasy series, Tales of Faeraven, carries the reader into a land only imagined in dreams.

Janalyn also writes western romance novels, and will publish in that genre under Janalyn Irene Voigt. She is represented by Sarah Joy Freese of Wordserve Literary. Janalyn serves as a literary judge for several international contests and is an active book reviewer. Her memberships include ACFW and NCWA.

When she’s not writing, Janalyn loves to find worlds of adventure in the great outdoors.

6 thoughts on “Janalyn Voigt

  1. Loved hearing your thoughts on self-publishing, Janalyn! Self-publishing is something I used to be opposed to and have just started thinking about, so hearing your perspective was really helpful.

    Your book looks good too! Thank you for the opportunity to win. 🙂

    And thank you for hosting her, Jennifer!

Leave a Reply

