Vonda Skelton

vondaToday we welcome Vonda Skelton, author, founder and co-director of Christian Communicators , to 3 Questions Wednesday.

(1) Do you watch reality television? Why or why not?

Vonda: The first reality show I watched was the first Survivor, and after I saw how it ended, I said I’d never watch another reality show. And I didn’t for years. Even snubbed my nose at them. Then I watched the second year of Biggest Loser and I was hooked. And even though backstabbing and lying still occur, at least they’re doing something positive to change their lives. I also sometimes watch America’s Got Talent, especially when I discover that Christians are surviving the cuts. I love pulling for them!

(2) What are your thoughts on e-publishing?

Vonda: When I first heard about e-publishing, I thought, “This will never work. Who’s gonna read a book on a gadget or computer? Readers want to hold real books!” Guess that shows you how much I know! No, I still don’t have a reader, still love holding a book in my hand, but whenever I finish my next book, I will definitely plan to include an e-publishing option. Who knows, with the right subject and target audience, I would even consider self-publishing an e-book myself!

(3) Which do you prefer? Facebook or Twitter?

Vonda: Well, I hate to admit it, but I see now that I’m three for three on these questions. 1)Didn’t like reality shows and now I do. 2)Didn’t like e-publishing and now I do. 3)And yes, I’m equally as UNcommitted on Question #3!

I started out with Twitter, simply because that was all that was available at that time (at least as far as I knew). Then my daughter found Facebook and told me about it, but I told her I didn’t need it because I was using Twitter. But after a while, other writers and speakers said that I needed to be on Facebook, so I decided to sign up just to have a presence. Well, it didn’t take me long to discover that my personality was a much better fit with Facebook than with Twitter. I love the more personal interaction, pictures, and general fun of FB. Of course, the downside to that is if I didn’t watch it and time myself, I could spend HOURS on Facebook! But we all know that social media is work too, right? 🙂

Thanks for letting me join you on this fun Wednesday. It’s always a joy to hang out with the Writing Prompts Crew!

Thank you, Vonda, for joining us on 3 Questions Wednesday! Make sure to leave a comment to be entered in a drawing for any of her novels, your choice.

Vonda Skelton is an entertaining speaker with a heart for women and their families. She is the author of four books, including Seeing Through the Lies: Unmasking the Myths Women Believe and the Bitsy Burroughs Mysteries for kids. Her articles have appeared in magazines such as HomeLife, ParentLife, Christian Single, New Man, Focus on the Family publications, and many others.

She is founder and co-director of Christian Communicators, an organization and community dedicated to educating, validating, and launching women in their speaking ministries. Vonda is also owner of The Christian Writer’s Den writing blog and is a frequent instructor at writers conferences around the country.

She is an occasional actor in film, theater, and commercials, and is currently working on a screenplay. Vonda and Gary have two beautiful daughters, two amazing sons-in-law, and four as-close-to-perfect-as-you-can-get grandchildren. Vonda and Gary have been married all their lives—and they’re still happy about it!

You can find out more about Vonda at www.VondaSkelton.com.

6 thoughts on “Vonda Skelton

Leave a Reply

